So Long, Working Sundays!

Sundays are typically pretty good days. And they are about to get a whole lot better for me!

I am officially done with my “seasonal” gig at Nordstrom this month.

But don’t worry, I am going out with a *bang*. I have killer hours for the last two weeks in March and going to be super busy, especially during out Triple Rewards week, but it’ll be a good way to go out. I do plan on returning to work anniversary sale this summer, assuming we are still living in this area!

Breakfast

I kick started my Sunday with the return of the pancake taco!

009

2 multigrain pancakes topped with almond butter and banana, eaten in taco form, naturally! Why dirty up a fork?!

006

And a piece of bacon to round out the meal!

007 008

With my daily caffeine.

004

Lunch

Lately, my Sunday shifts have been 12-4.

With sleeping in a bit, having a later than normal breakfast, and that shift, my eating schedule is a little wonky. I broke around 2:30 for a Glo Bar.

010

To be honest, this wasn’t as good as they are when they are fresher. This has been sitting in my pantry since I first got them back in October. It was a little bit tougher to chewy, but still good and filling and nutritious! I’m going to have to break down and order more soon. That was the last of them.

When I got home from work around 4:30, I ate a string cheese to hold me off until dinner.

011

Dinner

I got an early start on dinner since my hunger could not be ignored anymore.

Tonight, I made Tofu au Vin from Eating Well.

Ingredients
  • 1 14-ounce package package extra-firm tofu
  • 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil, divided
  • 1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt, divided
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground pepper, divided
  • 1 cup frozen pearl onions, thawed
  • 2 medium carrots, halved lengthwise and sliced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 8 ounces mushrooms, sliced
  • 2 tablespoons plus 1 teaspoon all-purpose flour
  • 2 cups light- to medium-bodied red wine, such as Beaujolais Nouveau, Merlot or Pinot Noir
  • 2 teaspoons butter

 

Preparation
  1. Drain, rinse and pat tofu dry; cut into 1/2- to 3/4-inch cubes. Heat 1 tablespoon oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add tofu and cook in a single layer, stirring every 1 to 2 minutes, until golden brown, 7 to 9 minutes total. Transfer the tofu to a shallow dish big enough to fit it in one layer. Sprinkle with vinegar, 1/4 teaspoon salt and 1/4 teaspoon pepper; gently toss to combine.
  2. Heat the remaining 1 tablespoon oil in the pan over medium heat. Add onions, carrots, garlic and bay leaf; cook, stirring often, until beginning to soften, about 3 minutes. Add mushrooms; cook, stirring, until they release their liquid, 3 to 5 minutes more. Sprinkle the vegetables with flour; stir to coat.
  3. Add wine, the remaining 1/2 teaspoon salt and 1/4 teaspoon pepper to the pan and cook, stirring, until the wine has reduced slightly and the sauce has thickened, 4 to 6 minutes more. Return the tofu to the pan, add butter and stir until heated through, 1 to 2 minutes. Remove the bay leaf before serving.

013 015 016 017 018 019 020021 022 023  025 026 027 028 029 030

024032

To accompany the Tofu au Vin over noodles, I steamed some asparagus.

031 033 034

The tofu was ok. The flavor reminded me sort of a beef burgundy which I presume is made essentially the same way. The pearl onions are something I don’t typically cook with but I rather liked them even though they were really hard to stab with a fork. And I think I’d have rather had larger (and more) carrot chunks. Overall, it was fine.

I sipped wine while I cooked, and finished it with dinner.

012 014

And I might have had a tiny bit more afterwards.

035

And there might be a Turtle in my future.

By the by. We watched 2012 last night and was pleasantly surprised! It was really entertaining!

Tonight, we are watching Tennessee.

And I’ve been catching some Oscar’s fashion on CoCoPerez! My fav so far is Anna Kendrick’s gown!

anna kendrick

(Source)

Gorgeous! But I’m partials to pinks and lace!

TTFN

-L4L-

5 Responses

  1. I have done tofu once since starting the whole vegetarian thing…yeah, A won’t eat it. Apparently I did it wrong. He said the texture was scary. Anyways, we haven’t revisited tofu since. 😦 This looks good! Wish I was a domestic champion!

    • Try baking the tofu. I find that the I prefer it that way. It does change the texture. Or puree it and use it like ricotta cheese!

  2. I’ve never tried Tofu….have been tempted – we’ll see. I watched 2012 Friday night…I thought it was pretty good – great special effects!!

  3. […] food blog, other then food blog, nothing paralell about that.  Then I read her Sunday blog, Leftovers for Lunch.  She made Tofu au Vin.  She mentions that it taste like beef burgundy, only with tofu and that […]

  4. See my website. Just think Twilight zone…

Leave a comment