Downer

Unfortunately, I’m not in the best of moods at the moment. It’s hormone related.

I think.

Maybe it’s just cuz it’s a Monday.

I don’t wanna know what Tuesday will bring then. We all know that is the worst day of the week! 😉

Breakfast

Leftovers made today really easy.

004

I reheated 2 leftover pancakes from yesterday and made almond butter sauce with soymilk to dunk them in!

005

And my daily cup of coffee flavored soymilk!

006 003

This didn’t hold me over too well. I ended up having a yogurt + granola mid-morning.

008

I love lemon Yami yogurt! Hands down, my fav!

Lunch

I had everyone in the office sniffing their way to my desk after I heated up leftover soup!

009

It was so delicious! I will make this again sometime!

010

On the way out the door of work, I ate a big naner!

012

Then I drove to the gym.

Then I drove home.

Yeah, that’s right.

I sat in the gym parking lot for a few minutes. Waning back and forth on whether to go in or not. I really wasn’t feeling hot. And looking back, I had had literally no protein today and very little fat. And no water. I think I was a bit dehydrated. I was dizzy and light headed.

So I headed home.

And I munched on some hummus and crackers until the boy got home!

013

And I don’t feel guilty about not going to the gym because I did accomplish some things!

Dinner

Taken from Vegetarian Times, dinner was a Greens & Quinoa Pie.

Greens and Quinoa Pie
1/2 cup quinoa, rinsed and drained
1 large bunch chicory (1 to 1 1/4 lb), cut into bite-sized pieces (bottom 1 1/2" of hard stems removed) aka curly endive
1 head romaine lettuce, shredded
3 Tbsp. olive oil, divided
2 medium 1 large onions thinly sliced (2 cups)
2 green onions, thinly sliced (1/4 cup)
1/4 cup chopped fresh dill
1/4 cup crumbled feta cheese, preferably Greek (1 oz.)
1/4 cup grated aged goat cheese or Swiss cheese (1 oz.) Ricotta
3 eggs, lightly beaten
Place quinoa in small saucepan, and toast over medium heat 2 to 3 minutes, or until almost dry. Ad 1 cup water, and season with salt, if desired. Cover, and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to medium-low, and simmer, covered, 15 minutes. Remove from heat, and transfer to large bowl.
Heat large pot over medium heat. Add chicory, and cook 3 to 5 minutes, or until wilted, stirring frequently or tossing with tongs. Add romaine, and wilt 1 to 2 minutes more. Transfer greens to strainer, and squeeze out excess moisture. Transfer to cutting board, and chop into small pieces. Stir into quinoa.
Preheat oven to 350*. heat 1 Tbs. oil in skillet over medium-high heat. Add onions, and sauté 10 minutes, or until browned. Add cooked onions, green onions, dill, feta cheese, and goat cheese to quinoa mixture. Stir in eggs; season with salt and pepper, if desired.
Pour 1 Tbs. oil into 9" pie pan, and place in oven. hat 5 minutes, or until oil is hot. swirl oil to coat bottom of pan, then spread quinoa mixture in pan with spatula. Bake 20 minutes. Drizzle pie with remaining 1 Tbs. oil, and bake 20 to 30 minutes more, or until golden brown.
Serves 6

014 015 016 017 018 019 020 021 022 023 024 025 026 027 028 030 031 032 033 034 035 037 038 039 040 043 044 047 049

I served it with my most favorite carrots from Eating Well: Chili Roasted Carrots.

042 046 048

The pie wasn’t bad! It was a lot of effort I felt like. You could totally cheat by using leftover quinoa and a package of thawed chopped spinach or wilting the lettuce in the microwave or something. I think artichoke would have been a nice addition.

045

And of course, the carrots never disappoint!

I’m off to watch Up!

Here’s hoping my mood is lifted. 😉

-L4L-

6 Responses

  1. Ugh I hear ya on the Monday thing. At least your dinner looks good…I heated up leftovers for dinner because I did not have it in me to cook. Oh and I have totally done the “sat in the gym parking lot and turned around” thing. I think if you’re dreading it that much it’s better to not go sometimes.

  2. I am trying those carrots very soon – they look great!!!
    I’m glad you didn’t feel guilty about not going to the gym. Some day’s are just not great, and that’s OK! =)

  3. UP!!! OMG, I will tell you that I have seen Up & The Hurt Locker…UP SHOULD have won the Oscar for Best Picture. Cartoons are so underrated, but that was a WAY more heartfelt story than anything else up (no pun intended) for an Oscar. UP ftw 😉

  4. I agree with Erin…..UP def pulled the heart strings!! Those carrots look amazing!

  5. I hear endorphins are great for bad moods 😉 I really want to come to Seattle and be your personal trainer. Or, at least annoy the hell out of you 😛

    Another awesome dinner! I love anything with ricotta and eggs.

    Hope your Tuesday is better! xoxo

  6. Hey, so that’s what it looks like with endive/chicory! I can also attest that it tastes even better heated up the next day.

Leave a Reply

