Chocolate Covered Friday

I’m doing the “Friday” dance! And it was a pretty sweet Friday, if I do say so myself!

It started off with a scrumptious breakfast!

003

Mmmmm, burrito!

001

Scrambled cheesy eggs, soysage, cilantro, hot sauce, sour cream, wrap.

002

And tea to go!

When Christina got to work, she hooked me up!

005

Apparently, she made chocolate covered strawberries for dessert last night and gave me a massive one!

006

So good! Especially at 8am!

For lunch, I headed out with one of our interns. His term is up next week so we did a semi-celebratory lunch at Sushi Maru. He’s been raving about the place for eons and the one time I went before, I wasn’t impressed but I had been there at the tail end of their lunch hour.

010

Today was soooo much better. There was a huge selection and so many people!

My plates:

Eel

007 

Not sure what this one was… something with crab and salmon?

008 

Another salmon thing that was amazing!

009

Gyoza

011 

Spicy tuna

012

Yummers!

When we got back to the office, we celebrated one of our advisors 25th birthday! Happy Birthday, Tim! I had a piece of his chocolate cake topped with whip cream and blueberries from Whole Foods.

013

It was fantastic. It was dense and moist and everything a cake should be!

So, the boy and I had a wonderful date night planned for tonight: A Tom Douglas restaurant for dinner and then IMAX for Alice in Wonderland.

All that came to a screeching halt when I received an email from the IMAX this morning saying they were having technical difficulties and we could reschedule or get a refund! Major bummer!

We ended up rescheduling for next Friday.

So tonight, we had no plans. Nothing on the menu. No idea what we wanted. Nothing pulled out to eat. We went back and forth. Did some googling. We ended up settling on a nearby Mexican joint that got rave reviews online.

015

It was a tiny joint. It seemed ok though. It was rather loud, and chilly, but the service was prompt. Maybe too prompt. It wouldn’t have killed the hostess to smile either.

Anyway, we started with chips and salsa. And somehow we managed to not polish off the entire basket!

017

And of course there were margaritas to be had!

018

For my entree, I ordered the Jalisco Pollo Al Chipotle.

014

Massive quantities ensued!

019

I ate the rice and beans and one tortilla filled with my chicken/onion/zucchini/chipotle mix. I boxed up the rest right away to keep my hands out of it! That’ll be the boy’s lunch tomorrow!

Speaking of the boy… He polished off a deluxe burrito at dinner!

021

I had a bite. It was ok.

Overall, I was not thoroughly impressed. I doubt we return. Sadly. We really miss the Mexican restaurant near our old apartment. It might be worth the drive down there one night.

Our evening was spent with Up In The Air featuring the one and only Mr. George Clooney. He’s a hot piece but I really didn’t care for this flick. Ah well. You can’t win them all.

I did have a nice night cap though!

023

Mmm, buttery deliciousness!

And I’m off to bed! Working all day tomorrow at Nordie’s! (Going to be so glad when that is done in a few weeks!)

-L4L-

Mexico On My Mind

I don’t think I’ve ever really participated in Flashback Friday but today, I had the urge to.

This week, ever since we booked our honeymoon to Puerto Vallarta, I’ve been reminiscing about my trip to Mazatlan in November, 2008! I went with my dad, his girlfriend at the time, and her son. It wasn’t a perfect vacation by any means, but I did have a blast for most of it! It was 2 full weeks! I like looking back at the pictures chronologically and you can see how much tanner I get!

Mazatlan 013Mazatlan 009  Mazatlan 024 Mazatlan 101 Mazatlan 117 Mazatlan 130 Mazatlan 152 Mazatlan 177 Mazatlan 188 Mazatlan 229 Mazatlan 117 Mazatlan 296 Mazatlan 159 Mazatlan 187 Mazatlan 192 Mazatlan 225 Mazatlan 448 Mazatlan 985Mazatlan 454 Mazatlan 455 Mazatlan 456 Mazatlan 476 Mazatlan 498 Mazatlan 513 Mazatlan 551Mazatlan 535Mazatlan 537 Mazatlan 561Mazatlan 578 Mazatlan 606 Mazatlan 635 Mazatlan 636 Mazatlan 717 Mazatlan 720 Mazatlan 721 Mazatlan 791Mazatlan 345 Mazatlan 346 Mazatlan 351 Mazatlan 934 Mazatlan 365 Mazatlan 955 Mazatlan 963 Mazatlan 970 Mazatlan 971  Mazatlan 997 Mazatlan 1071

What has been the best vacation that you have ever taken?

I think mine was 5 1/2 weeks in India though there was a fair amount of drama on that trip! But the culture and experiences were absolutely amazing!

-L4L-