Sun Dried

You guys ready for a long one today? I promise, dinner is worth the wait to get to! 😀

Breakfast

I had to be at work for a stupid training class this morning by 8am so we only got to sleep in until 6:45. While I got ready, the boy made breakfast! (And took these pics!)

002001  003004 005006 007 008009 010

A scramble with sundried tomatoes, feta, and spinach.

013

And a piece of Dave’s with real butter!

012

And a coffee to go!

014

Thanks baby!

015

Lunch

I didn’t get out of the training “class” until well after 1 and on my way to the car, I scarfed down a Larabar.

017

Ginger Snap! W00t! One of my TOP 5 flavors for sure!

When I walked in the door, the boy came through again with lunch!

022

Tuna melt with Dave’s, tuna, mayo, Kraft American, and parmesan.

018

And 2 Cuties.

021

Isn’t he a cutie for how he arranged them? 😉

It was a gorgeous day out and when I asked the boy what he wanted to do, he said he was thinking about washing the cars. I thought that was a perfect idea!

We made a pit stop at the grocery store for a couple random things we forgot yesterday and split a grande soy caramel macchiato.

027

Still running on a SBux gift card! W00t!

We quickly got both of our cars all cleaned up!

Before:

 029 030  033 034 036

During:

035 037

After:

038 039 040 041

Most of the pine needles are gone but some are stuck in there real good!

Yay for sunshine!

After all our hard work (ha!), I had a quick wardrobe change (wet jeans = ew) and Jodus spontaneously took me out to our local wine bar: Olives.

042

Quite fitting, they immediately plopped some olives down in front of us! And I ate them all!

043

I really like the decor! Sort of industrial/modern, I have no idea. But I am digging it!

049 050 051

Jodus and I decided to get 2 flights of wine and share.

054 055

California Reds:

058

Italian:

061

So here is what we thought of each:

California Reds:

2008 Deloach Reserve Pinot Noir – Smooth, very basic, nothing exciting.

2007 Artezin Mendocino County Zinfandel – Very complex, flavorful, very interesting, it keeps your palate guessing. I wouldn’t drink a lot by itself but could be paired excellently with a nice spicy dish.

2007 Leese Fitch Cabernet – A good, solid cab. Bold and smooth, just like a cab should be!

2006 Seghesio Barbera – The most expensive wine, and we could actually tell with this one. The quality was fantastic, it was smooth, and complex. It was much easier to pick out the subtle flavors in this blend. I picked up on a smokiness and Jodus and I both caught hints of blackberry. I would quite happily drink an entire bottle of this if someone else was paying the bill!

Italiana Fantastico:

2008 Zenato Pinot Grigio – We typically don’t go for white wines so much but this was decent and would pair well with a salad. It was not too sweet which is my biggest complaint of many white wines.

2007 Li Veli Negroamaro – Probably our favorite, especially for the price. It had a nice flavor, smooth, good stand alone wine.

2005 Badia Chetamura Chianti – Jodus was more of a fan than I was but again, nothing particularly exciting. It was flavorful and dry.

2007 Memo Montepulciano – Not really memorable, not worth the price point it was at.

066 062

Jodus and I already have plans to return to the wine bar, but hopefully to take advantage of their Happy Hour next time! The food menu looks fantastic! But I already had big plans for our dinner!

We made a detour on the way home to catch the end of the sunset!

069 070

Awww!

Dinner

3 big recipes to knock out in one go! Are you ready for this one?

The first dish was actually taken from an advertisement in Cooking Light for Norwegian Salmon.

Except I realized this morning that we had no salmon.

So I made it with chicken instead.

Brown Sugar Roasted Norwegian Salmon with Maple Mustard Dill Sauce

Ingredients:

  • (4) 5-6 oz Norwegian Salmon fillets, skin removed 3 oz chicken filets
  • ¼ cup brown sugar
  • 1 tbsp black pepper, cracked
  • ½ tsp salt
  • ¼ cup maple syrup
  • ¼ cup mustard, grainy or Dijon
  • 2 tbsp dill, chopped
  • 2 tbsp olive oil

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400350° F
  2. Combine brown sugar, cracked black pepper and kosher salt in bowl. Mix well
  3. Rub Norwegian Salmon chicken fillets with brown sugar mixture, making sure to use all of mixture. Let stand for 15 minutes in refrigerator covered lightly with plastic wrap
  4. Combine maple syrup, mustard and fresh dill in small mixing bowl. Set aside
  5. Coat bottom of baking pan with 1 tbsp olive oil. Place salmon chicken fillets in pan and drizzle with remaining oil
  6. Bake for 12 35 minutes or until cooked to desired temperature
  7. Remove from baking pan and drizzle salmon chicken with maple-mustard-dill sauce

076 077 078 079 110 139084 088 091 093 111 135 

Dish two was taken from Vegetarian Times but I couldn’t find the recipe online.

Honey Braised Carrots

    • 8 medium carrots, halved and cut into slices
    • 1 large shallot, sliced into thin rings
    • 1/2 cup honey
    • 1 Tbls red wine vinegar

Basically just simmer the carrots and shallot in honey, add red wine vinegar at the end when carrots are tender.

114 115 117 118 119 121 133 134

The third dish was take from The Pioneer Woman blog.

Sundried Tomato Risotto

Ingredients
  • 4 Tablespoons Butter
  • 2 Tablespoons Olive Oil
  • ½ whole Large Yellow Onion, Diced
  • 3 cloves Garlic, Minced
  • 2 cups Arborio Rice, Uncooked
  • 8 whole Sundried Tomatoes Packed In Oil, Drained And Minced
  • 1 cup Dry White Wine (optional)
  • 7 4 cups Low Sodium Chicken Broth
  • 2 cups vegetable broth
  • Salt As Needed
  • Freshly Ground Black Pepper
  • 1 cup Parmesan, Freshly Grated
  • ¼ cups Heavy Whipping Cream
  • Fresh Basil, Chiffonade (optional)
Preparation Instructions

Heat broth (note: it’s important the broth be low sodium) in a saucepan or in a microwave safe pitcher. Set aside.

Heat butter and olive oil in a large pot or dutch oven over medium heat. Add onions and garlic and cook for 3 to 4 minutes.

Add dry rice. Stir to coat and cook for 3 minutes, stirring gently.

Pour in wine. Stir and cook over medium-low heat until most of the liquid is absorbed. Add in minced sundried tomatoes and stir.

Then begin adding broth, one cup at a time, stirring gently while the rice absorbs the liquid each time. Repeat this until the rice is done—it usually takes between 6 and 8 cups of broth. The rice should have a slight bite to it, but not be crunchy at all.

Remove from heat, then stir in Parmesan and heavy cream. Adjust salt and pepper to taste. Serve as a main dish with a salad, or as a side dish with steak, chicken, or fish. Delicious!

074 080 083 089 096 097 099 103 104 107 109 112 116 124 125 127 130 132 136

Alright, here are my thoughts on the dishes:

137

Chicken: the flavor was amazing. I wouldn’t have thought to combine maple, mustard, and dill. I loved the chicken. I bet salmon would be even better. This is a definite make-again!

Carrots: not stellar. Also bad planning on my part to plan two sweet dishes together. We both agreed that something like the chili roasted carrots would be a better pairing. Either way, the carrots weren’t great. Mostly just sweet. I would have at least halved the honey next time but I know there won’t be a next time.

Risotto: I felt like the finished product was just a really fancy adult version of mac & cheese. I actually preferred the risotto before I stirred in the cream and parm. You could taste the tomato more. But all risotto is delicious and creamy. I was just hoping for a little more. Fresh basil would have been amazing.

138

Overall, it was a nice Saturday night meal!

And now that it is 9pm, I need to spend some quality time with my love!

-L4L-

4 Responses

  1. Awww, that is such a cute picture of you two!!! I’m bookmarking that salmon recipe, I like the idea of that flavour combo too. You always give me wonderful supper ideas!

  2. I must try the Salmon recipe…with salmon 🙂 Looks like you had a perfect day, at least better then my house cleaning/laundry/mom taxi/scout meeting day…

  3. […] sat at the same table we sat at last time and funny enough, I happened to be wearing the same […]

  4. […] Sundried Tomato Risotto […]

Leave a Reply

