Salisbury Steak Blanc

124

This past week, I found most of my menu-planning inspiration from Pinterest. I’m actually really proud of myself for making things that I’ve pinned instead of just pinning, and pinning, and pinning. Now, if I could just muster up the motivation to tackle a DIY project or two for around the house, then we would be in business. In the meantime, I’ll keep ticking away at my Eats board.

So I saw Salisbury Steaks, pinned it, and thought I might try making it with ground turkey. And if you use ground turkey, you should use chicken broth instead of beef, right? And if I am using chicken broth instead of beef, I should use white wine instead of red, right? Well, this was my methodology at any rate. So I’m affectionately tacking on a blanc to the end of my salisbury steak as an ode to the Sauv Blanc I used in the gravy. I should have let the gravy thicken up more but I was getting hungry. It was really good with the mashed potatoes. Husband was totally digging the hearty, comfort food.

101

Salisbury Steaks

20 oz ground turkey
1/2 cup bread crumbs
1 egg
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp pepper
1 tsp minced garlic
1 tsp Worcestershire Sauce
1 tsp Italian seasoning
1 T olive oil

To make patties: Mix all ingredients, except olive oil, in a bowl. Shape into 6 oval patties about 3/4-inch thick. Heat olive oil in a large nonstick skillet set over medium-high heat. Sear patties about 3 minutes per side, or until a brown crust forms. Reduce heat to medium and cook through, about 10 minutes depending on the thickness. Reduce to medium-low.

Onion Gravy

2 large sweet onions, thinly sliced
2 tablespoons unsalted butter
2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
3 cups chicken broth
1/2 cup white wine
1 teaspoon cider vinegar
Salt and pepper to taste

To make gravy: Heat butter in a large sauté pan. Add onions and cook over medium-high heat, until onions start to brown, stirring occasionally. When onions are slightly softened and turning a deep honey brown, add 1/4 cup broth. Reduce heat, cover and continue cooking, adding more broth as needed to prevent caramelized bits at the bottom of the pan from burning. It should take at least 25 to 30 minutes to properly caramelize onions. Stir in flour and cook for about 2 minutes. Add wine and reduce by half. Stir in remaining beef broth and tomato paste. Stir in cider vinegar. Simmer for 10 minutes. Add salt and pepper to taste. Pour gravy over patties and heat through.

3 Responses

  1. This totally reminds me of my childhood dinners. Comfort food all grown up!

  2. Love meal planning from Pinterest! So much fun to browse all sorts of yummy recipes. This looks awesome. I need to make salisbury steak soon; been years!

  3. I love the blanc salisbury steak- I am definitely giving it a try. Healthy comfort food- gotta love it!

Leave a comment