Cod with Sicilian Pesto

039

I have been obsessing over Mediterranean cuisine lately. It may not seem like it to you – I’m pretty good at having variety with my dinners – but olives, sundried tomatoes, capers, and basil have made an almost daily appearance in my meals. Sometimes, it is in a scramble at breakfast. Sometimes, it is just as a snack to hold me over until dinner. Sometimes, it is loaded onto a “side” salad to bulk up my lunch leftovers. I don’t know what it is about the flavors that are doing it for me. Slightly salty, slightly sweet, and so very complimentary.

This Sicilian Pesto recipe reminds me a lot of my Sundried Tomato Sauce, but a little lighter – not as much oil but just as much flavor. I served it with pan-fried cod – just a splash of white wine, a dab of butter, and a drizzle of oil. Some salt, pepper, Italian seasoning, and dinner was done.

004

Sicilian Pesto

3/4 cup oil-packed sun-dried tomatoes
1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil, plus more for drizzling
1 clove garlic, peeled
1/2 cup raw cashews
1 cup fresh basil

Combine all ingredients in a food processor and puree until smooth.

I had a generous portion leftover so the next morning, I mixed it in scrambled eggs and it was really good.

3 Responses

  1. leftovers in the morning is always fun. Esp when its cold pizza.

  2. What a great Lent recipe. I bookmarked it to make later. Thanks for sharing with us.

Leave a Reply

