2012 Goals

A few weeks ago, I found a little piece of paper in a box from my old office. On it, I had written a few goals for 2012 that I apparently didn’t feel the need to publish. Honestly, I had forgotten about them completely. And I was really happy to see that I had successfully knocked most of them out without a conscious effort. They are also really similar to my 2011 goals which worked out pretty well, also.

Get a 10% raise. Thanks to a new job, I basically knocked it out of the park. Though, I suppose it technically isn’t a raise since it is a different position? Either way, I’m bringing home more bacon which has made things more comfortable for us.

image

Pay down $10k in debt. We were totally on track to do this… then we bought a car. The new payment put a damper on our ability to pay stuff down, and we ended up adding more debt. Hm… not exactly how I envisioned it but we love the car and it needed to happen. We still have managed to pay off $7k+ in other ways though so that’s pretty good, all things considered.

image

Read 100 books. Last year, my goal was 52 and I cleared the 60 mark so I raised the bar a little. And smashed it to pieces. Again, I cannot say enough good things about Goodreads. And the local library. I think I’ve actually purchased less than 10 books this year out of the 135+ I’ve read (and will probably eek out a couple more).

2012 reads

Run 500 miles. This was a new goal. And a lofty one considering I was ending 2011 with a solid knee injury. But I managed to overcome that, pound out just over 500 miles, and run a bunch of races and knab a couple PR’s in the process. I also started showing an interest in cycling then promptly injured my hip by logging over a hundred miles on an ill-fitting, super heavy, cheap, decade-old Wal-Mart bike. I think we will be acquiring new nice bikes ASAP because I loved riding.

2012 miles

2012 is swiftly coming to a close and looking back, it was a pretty darn good year. We got a couple fun trips in, lots of races, one trip to the ER, a few good hikes, our new rig, and my new job. I really can’t complain at all. Next year is going to be great.

2 Responses

  1. Nice job on the books! My goal was like 70 or something. I read 108 in 2012.

  2. Awesome year for you Leah! It was great to get to know you!

Leave a Reply

