Jingle Bell 5k – Seattle

Heeeyyyyyyyy! Yep, I’m still around, still running. This past weekend, I headed over into the city with my friend, Ellen, and my Huz and totally rocked some awesome socks at the Jingle Bell 5k.

Honestly, I wasn’t thrilled about the route and knew it would be super crazy busy so I settled on just having a good time and enjoying all the ridiculous peeps out there. It was highly entertaining.

As we were walking up to the race, I decided, after seeing the hoards of people, that a PR was not in the cards and I wasn’t going to go for it. And then we took off. And we were dodging people left and right and irritated at all the walkers (!!) we were passing who should have been behind us. (Seriously, makes me ragey.) And before I knew it, we were at the mile 2 mark and I was *gasp* on track for a PR.

So I went for it. I kept a comfortably uncomfortable pace (so consistent, actually!) and then the last little bit bolted for the finish line. I totally PR’ed (31:33 official chip time) AND if I hadn’t had to dodge so many damned people, I could have probably eeked out a sub 30:00 (total mileage ended up being 3.35 miles instead of 3.1). I was super stoked about the surprise PR and really happy with my split times:

1: 9:32
2: 9:33
3: 9:31
.35: 8:45

I’ve got another 5k on the books for New Years… we’ll see if I can nab that sub 30:00. Not sure since it is a midnight run. But it’s flat which this one was not. We’ll see how the conditions go.

It should also be noted that my husband is amazing. Last month, he ran his first ever FULL marathon and finished in 4:15.

marathon1

I actually meant to do a post about it but I think I just forgot. I had a blast cheering him on with our friends and he totally killed it.

I’m ridiculously proud of him.

3 Responses

  1. Glad you’re still in the blog world! 🙂 Awesome race – you all look super cute! And congrats to hubby!

  2. How adorable. I’m proud of both of you.

  3. Awesome job to your husband and yahooo for the 5K!! I ended up doing the 10K in Tacoma this month although I wanted to get to Seattle!

Leave a Reply

