Happy, Healthy August

Happy August! It happens to be one of my favorite months of the year and not just because it’s my birthday month! The main reason I love August is the weather – its one of the few months here in Washington that is generally warm and sunny and coming off of a craptastic July (weather-wise), I’m hoping August stays true to form. We are hoping to get in a lot of outdoor activities, especially hiking! And boy, does my body need it.

The past 6 months or so, I’ve been focused 100% on running (but still only running 3x a week) and let all other exercise fall to the wayside. (Zero strength and cross training. Boo hiss.) This, in conjunction with a lot of eating out and too many Happy Hours have led to an overall feeling of blah. As I mentioned on Monday, I have also been in a cooking funk (obviously) which hasn’t helped matters.

So as a means to help get back on track and not totally over-do my birthday month (which has been known to happen), I stole an idea from Cassie – a tracking calendar! Yeah, I set it to start on Sunday (but that didn’t happen) and ended up starting on Monday even though it wasn’t quite August yet. But why wait?

As you can see, my goals are focused around getting fruit and veggie servings, exercising at least 30 minutes everyday (strength trianing at least 2x a week, if not 3x!), taking my vitamins, and getting in my water intake. These are some easy goals that I can shoot for everyday. I have been tracking calories for the past week but I know I won’t keep it up so at least staying on point with these aspects will help. I even have a friend (and my husband)  joining me in the challenge! I’m a total dork and so excited to color things in at the end of each day. (I’m also looking forward to hopefully shedding a few unwanted pounds even though I plan to indulge for my birthday!)

If you would like to join in, you can find my calendar here in pdf form: August Tracking Calendar.

Here’s to a happy, healthy August!

2 Responses

  1. such a cute little calendar. love it.

  2. Nice work…what an easy way to keep track!

Leave a Reply

