Sweet & Spicy Glazed Pork Tenderloin

Oh hey there, friends! Yep, I’m finally back with a recipe! I’ve been in a serious cooking funk the past few months and have literally tried zero new recipes – just been rotating through a stash of basics. I don’t know what got into me but I think I might be back in action! I actually came up with a meal plan for the week. I’m shocked!

Sweet & Sour Pork 013

Now I know that most of the country has been suffering from intolerable heat but we here in the Pac NW have been hovering in the 60’s and barely cracking the 70’s so I had no hesitation with making a hot crockpot meal this weekend.

Sweet & Sour Pork 009

This pork tenderloin has been sitting in our freezer for over a month, begging to be cooked up and I must say, I’m glad for the extra freezer space it freed up – now we have more room for fun summer foods like brats and burgers. (This is assuming we actually get a summer and don’t go straight from Spring to Fall.)

Sweet & Sour Pork 019

I saw a Maple & Brown Sugar Glazed Pork Roast on Pinterest and pinned it but after some thought, I decided it would be too sweet so I went looking for something with a better balance of flavors. I came across this recipe that still had maple but added mustard, soy sauce, and vinegar to cut the sweetness. Furthermore, in the comments, a brilliant someone added hot sauce. That sounded like an award winning combo to me so I adjusted the ratios a little and got to work.

Sweet & Sour Pork 006

To start, I rinsed the pork and patted it dry then gave it a healthy coat of salt and pepper. I made this dish in my multi-cooker – seared on “brown/sauté” at 350* and then flipped it to slow cook on “low” for about an hour and a half until the internal temperature reached 160*. This can be done in a crockpot or stovetop and searing isn’t a necessary step but it really does help lock in the juices and pork can be susceptible to drying out easily. The glaze was poured on at the beginning and I flipped the pork a few times in between.

After the pork was ready, I removed it from the multi-cooker to rest and poured the glaze into a small saucepan and brought it to a boil for a minute then let it cool to thicken up. And it turned out fantastic. I’m planning on using the leftover glaze on grilled salmon tonight! And full disclosure: after I snapped pics, I smothered our roasted root vegetables and asparagus in the glaze and wanted to lick my plate after!

Sweet & Sour Pork 004

Sweet & Spicy Glaze

3/4 cup real maple syrup
1/4 cup dijon mustard
2 T low-sodium soy sauce
2 T apple cider vinegar
1 T Cholula (or your hot sauce of choice, less if you don’t really like the heat)
salt and pepper to taste

Whisk well and pour over meat of your choice prior to cooking. Baste as necessary.

One Response

  1. Looks wonderful, glad you’re back in the cooking game.

Leave a Reply

