Rhody Run 12k – 2012

Yep, Hi! Still alive. I’m not going to apologize for being MIA lately. I wish I could say that it’s because we’ve been busy but we haven’t really. I just haven’t been cooking at all and, let’s face it, this is primarily a food/recipe blog. I haven’t been cooking because I’m being lazy. And I’m trying to clean up my diet which leads to some pretty boring chicken + broccoli kind of dinners. And the weather has been better so we’ve been grilling up burgers. I’ve also really taken a step back from the computer and rekindled my love of books. Pretty much every night of the week, you can find me curled up on the loveseat under our living room window with a library book in my lap. And I am loving it. I’m 56 books into this year and am showing no signs of slowing down.

But what has slowed down considerably is the amount of  running I’ve been doing this year compared to last year. Coping with a knee injury for the past 6 months has been tedious. It’s plummeted not only my cardiovascular conditions (which is pretty nonexistent to begin with) and taken my motivation along with it. The nicer weather lately has been helping but it’s hard to see how much of a hit my pace has taken. I’m trying not to let it get me down and to just make the most of this upcoming race season. The bright side is that my knees (and feet) are doing well for the time being so it’s time to get back into the running saddle.

image

And starting off this running season, we ran Rhody this morning. If you could call it running, really. More like shuffling for me. I was dreadfully sick this past week – fever, chills, coughing, runny nose. I actually called in sick to work 2 days. But I didn’t let that stop me from hustling across that start line. Rhody is a special run for me – not only is it my “Hometown” annual run, it’s also what I consider to be my first real race last year. It kick started my running bug so I was eager to revisit it, even though there would be nothing kicking about today’s run.

IMAG0244

It was cold and rainy at the start and I was miserable. A picture is worth a thousand words. So not thrilled.

My husband on the other hand, was rather chipper and optimistic!

husband

I forced him to run on his own this year and not suffer alongside me in my misery so he used the opportunity to try out his half marathon pacing in preparation for Rock n’ Roll next month. He killed it.

DSC_3540

Jodus finished in 1:02:25, then ran the 2 miles back to my dad’s house while I continued to plod along.

DSC_3547

Yep, that’s me trying to dig in. But I wasn’t the only one – look at all those other faces around me fighting their way up a mile long hill! Ok, Dad, I’ll smile for you.

DSC_3549

Yep, I need to lay off the beer.

I ended up crossing the finish line at 1:28:28, which is 6 minutes slower than last year. But considering the sickness and the whimpy miles I’ve been putting in,  whatever. I finished without hacking up a lung. (You can catch my splits and the route on Daily Mile if you are curious.)

We also enjoyed the Rhody Parade on Saturday, which happened to be a gorgeous day out and we even turned a little red. But this morning was dreary and gray. Boo hiss.

DSC_3360

(I’m overdue for a retarded picture of myself anyway. It’s usually husband that is so good at making an ass of himself!)

And one obligatory parade shot of my favorite chair ladies:

DSC_3524

We are now home sweet home and about to gorge on pizza. Peace out, Girl Scouts.

IMAG0249

2 Responses

  1. Haha, I wasn’t sure if you were laughing in that photo or fell asleep with your mouth open! Love the family pic with Pippin.

  2. Yeah, eating a boring diet like protein + veggie (which is what we do) is not very exciting to write about!

    My cousins ran the race too!

Leave a Reply

