Recipe Roundup–What We’ve Been Eating

So I have a bit of a backlog of new recipes we’ve been eating and I’m feeling a little bit lazy so I’m just going to throw a bunch of links up at you with what we’ve been downing the past couple weeks. (But they are my pictures!) I guess the 6-day work weeks might be starting to wear on me a bit but only a few weeks left!

Buffalo Chicken Quinoa Mac & Cheese

131

You know I’m a sucker for anything with buffalo sauce. The only real change I made to this recipe was that I used parmesan and nutritional yeast instead of cheddar because that’s what I had on hand. It was really damn good straight out of the oven but didn’t make the best leftovers.

Lemon Thyme Chicken

012

A pretty standard recipe but it’s an easy way to dress up your average weeknight chicken breast. No real wow factor but the flavor was decent and I would definitely make it again when feeling less than creative at dinner time.

Pasta with Roasted Asparagus and Balsamic Butter

045

I loved the flavors but it was a kind of ugly dish. I also reduced the butter by a fair amount and the amount of pasta – I was looking more for a veggie side dish than a carb. I love anything balsamic so I couldn’t pass this up.

Chipotle Chicken Tacos

119

Ok, here’s a couple slow cooker recipes AND chipotle recipes. (I had an open can I needed to use up!) The first is chicken tacos. They were pretty simplistic and stupid easy to make. I would have liked to have a little more flavor in them but that might just be me. But all the toppings were bomb (cilantro, green onion, plain greek yogurt, avocado). I also used the leftover chicken as a salad topper the next day and that was really good. Husband used the leftovers to make a toasted sandwich and really enjoyed it as well.

Chipotle Lime Chicken with Jamaican Coconut Rice & Beans

093

And the second chipotle recipe! I really enjoyed these. I’m finding I really like chicken thighs done in the crockpot so that their meat is just falling off the bone. The coconut rice was also really damn good.

And last but not least…

Vegetable Ragout with Polenta

035

I picked this recipe for the sole reason that I had all the ingredients on hand and I’m digging homemade polenta at the moment. But damn, the original version of the recipe was like an hour long process! I whacked that in half by doing all the veggies in one pot and not using a double boiler for my polenta. I also halved the butter in the beurre blanc sauce since my jeans are a little tight at the moment. Oh yeah, and I used thyme instead of tarragon because tarragon is gross.

One Response

  1. oh man i could eat every one of these. thanks for the recipes!

Leave a Reply

