Quinoa & Sweet Potato Salad

060

For some reason, I’m on a huge quinoa kick. It comes and goes in phases. Sometimes, I find the texture odd. Other times, I love it. I’m on a love-it swing apparently. You’ll be seeing a couple more quinoa recipes next week, I’m sure. This one was really good. The dressing recipe had a couple ingredients that I would have never thought to combine but it turned out really well. I couldn’t help but keep licking the spoon that I stirred it all up with.

077

Quinoa & Sweet Potato Salad

1 cup quinoa
2 cup vegetable broth

2 large sweet potatoes, peeled and diced
1 teaspoon olive oil
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1 teaspoon chili powder
1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper

vinaigrette
1/2 lemon, juiced
1 tablespoon, apple cider vinegar
1 teaspoons maple syrup
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 teaspoon dijon mustard
1 small garlic clove, minced
salt and pepper, to taste
2 green onions, sliced thinly

Bring vegetable stock to a boil and add in quinoa. Cover and simmer over medium heat until tender and mostly absorbed. Drain, fluff with a fork and set aside.

Meanwhile, toss sweet potatoes with olive oil, cumin, chili powder and cayenne and bake in a 400F oven for about 20 minutes or until tender.

In a small serving dish, toss together the quinoa and yams. Combine the vinaigrette ingredients in a small jar (taste & adjust seasonings, if necessary) and pour over salad. Add in green onions and combine.

055

4 Responses

  1. I never cook quinoa. I’m not opposed to it, just don’t ever think of it.
    BUT I really want to try this! Great combo of flavors! 🙂

  2. Oh I like the idea of pairing it with sweet potato!! Nice I am going to have to try this.

  3. What a lovely salad idea. I really love quinoa too!

  4. Just made this and it was delish!!

Leave a Reply

