Creole Tuna

091

Rummaging through the pantry, I couldn’t help but notice the leaning tower of tuna cans staring back at me. But I’m so over tuna noodle casserole and tuna melts. I wanted something different to do with the tuna. And I found it. It sounded really odd at first, and I was hesitant but I had all the ingredients on hand so I took it as a sign.

099

Creole Tuna

Ingredients:

1 bell pepper, chopped
1/2 medium onion, diced
2 tablespoons butter
2 tablespoons all-purpose flour (I used spelt)
1/2 teaspoon sugar
1/8 teaspoon pepper
1/3 cup chicken broth
1 (14.5 ounce) can diced tomatoes
1 (6 ounce) can tuna, drained and flaked
1 1/2 teaspoon Creole seasoning
green onion, sliced for garnish

Directions:

1. In a saucepan, sauté bell pepper and onion in butter until tender.

2. Stir in flour, sugar, salt and pepper until blended. Gradually add broth, stirring constantly. Stir in tomatoes. Bring to a boil; cook and stir for 2 minutes.

3. Add tuna and Creole seasoning; heat through.

109

One Response

  1. I am so trying this recipe this weekend. I can taste it now!

Leave a Reply

