Here We Go Again…

Today officially marks the beginning of my running training schedule for 2012.

image

It’s a strange thing for me. Last year was the year I was determined to become a runner. I ran a 5k, 10k, 12k, 2 half marathons, and a relay race, and not in that order. I accomplished things that I never in a million years thought I’d be able to do and it was euphoric.

image

And then I got injured.

At least the timing was good. In October, I jacked up my knees with the combination of running and weight lifting. I’m pretty sure it was mostly squats fault if I had to point the finger. Or maybe just an overuse injury. I sidelined myself for a few weeks, conveniently with a vacation to Hawaii, and tried a 5k Turkey Trot in November with noteworthy knee pain.

Again, I sidelined myself. Told myself to take it easy. It was pretty easy to do, especially with the crap weather and boozy holidays. I was optimistic about my ability to be up and running again and, while under the influence, I’m sure, Huz and I registered for a few races for 2012 to motivate us. We’ll be doing Rhody (12k in May) and Ragnar (relay in July) again. We also registered for the Rock n’ Roll Half in June.

January rolled around and I took my legs for a test run. And then I couldn’t walk up the stairs the next day. I scheduled myself an appointment with my doctor, got diagnoses with Patellofemoral Syndrome and started Physical Therapy – 2-3x a week for 5 weeks until I got my new job. I also got orthotic inserts for my running shoes and have been battling with those for the past 6 weeks and getting them readjusted 3 times. I also looked into ChiRunning to work on my form and technique.

Coming back from injury has been a physical challenge, and an emotional one. As anticipated, my stamina was shot and my pace has suffered greatly. I feel like I’m starting over from scratch. I just have to keep telling myself that I’ve done it before, I can do it again. And I didn’t have that mode of thinking on my side last year when I was a total n00b.

injury training

I’m anxious to get into training. I’m hypersensitive about any ache, pain, twinge, pressure, sensation. I’m definitely spending a lot more time beating myself up about my running abilities. But I also hate the idea of having to back out of these races we’ve already paid for. So I’m going to give this my best shot. I’m going to take it easy on myself and try not to care about pace. I’m going to do my physical therapy exercises, stretch, ice, and listen to my body.

And hope for the best.

Fingers crossed.

3 Responses

  1. Best of luck, Leah! You’ve got the right idea, Hope that orthotic situation gets better.

  2. You’ve accomplished a lot! I have been trying to work up to a 5K but shin splints always get in my way! I like it anyways though! Good luck!

  3. I’m totally late to commenting on this thing but don’t be discouraged! It might take you longer than you like to get back at a fitness level your happy with, but it will come back. i swear!

    Last winter I had to take 6 months off for my stupid IT band and not only did I come back – I came back smarter!! and stronger.

Leave a Reply

