Spanish Chickpea and Spinach Stew

066

As much as I would love to say that soup season is over, I’m not really seeing an end in sight. It’s cold, rainy, and windy and there is no sign of it letting up. So in the meantime, I’ll keep sipping on my warm, salty soup, curled up on the couch with a blanket and a movie.

098

Spanish Chickpea & Spinach Stew

Original Recipe here.

  • 2 (15-ounce) can diced tomatoes,  undrained
  • 1 tsp minced ginger
  • 1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 medium onion, finely sliced
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 teaspoon smoked paprika
  • 12 ounces frozen chopped spinach
  • 2 (14-ounce) cans garbanzo beans
  • 2 teaspoons soy sauce
  • Heat olive oil in a large straight-sided skillet over high heat until shimmering. Add onion, garlic, and paprika, and cook, stirring frequently, until softened and very slightly browned. 

    Add spinach, diced tomatoes, garbanzo beans, and soy sauce, and bring to a boil over high heat. Reduce to a bare simmer and cook, stirring occasionally, until thickened into a thick stew, about 30 minutes total.

    3 Responses

    1. This is my absolute facourite although I tend to make it with chorizo – Its the best!!!

    2. I have to revisit my notes, but The Hubs had a Spanish stew in Santa Fe that he loved and it has been on my radar to replicate it. I know it had chicken and chorizo in it. Your recipe has me thinking about it again. (Can it really be that soup season is nearing an end?)

    3. I don’t think soup season has a beginning or an ending! I could eat soup all year round =)

    Leave a Reply

