Polenta with Creamy Mushroom Sauce

006

I’ve had polenta a couple times. I’ve loved it. And I haven’t been into it so much. And I think I’ve figured it out. This time, I, again, used the prepared tube of polenta and decided I wasn’t into it. That has to be what it is about polenta that leaves little to be desired. The prepared stuff has a different texture and an artificial taste for some reason. Noted. And now I will stick to making my own polenta. All that being said, I loved the mushroom sauce. I just think it would have been better over a steak, or chicken breast.

001

Polenta with Creamy Mushroom Sauce

Ingredients
  • 1 20-ounce tube prepared plain polenta, sliced into 8 rounds
  • 1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 cup minced onion
  • 20 ounces white mushrooms, sliced
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground pepper
  • 1/2 cup white wine
  • 1/2 cup greek yogurt
  • 2/3 cup goat cheese
  • 1/4 cup chopped basil
Preparation
  1. Preheat oven to 400°F. Coat a baking sheet with cooking spray.
  2. Arrange the polenta on the prepared baking sheet and bake until crispy on the bottom and heated through, about 20 minutes.
  3. Meanwhile, heat oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add onion and cook, stirring often, until lightly browned, 2 to 3 minutes. Stir in mushrooms, salt and pepper, and cook, stirring often, until the mushrooms are softened and most of the liquid has evaporated, 8 to 10 minutes.
  4. Pour in wine; bring to a boil and scrape up any browned bits from the bottom of the pan. Reduce the liquid until the pan is almost dry, 2 to 3 minutes. Stir in sour cream and bring to a simmer. Remove from the heat, stir in cheese and basil. Serve the sauce over the polenta.
9 Responses

  1. I have never tried polenta, but Ive always wanted to. This recipe looks very good!

  2. Polenta is one of those things I want to really like but then I never buy it. That recipe you linked to (“loved it”) looks yum though, maybe I’ll try it…

    (This random useless comment is my way of saying HII!)

  3. Agreed! Prepared polenta is nothing like the homemade stuff. I have the same problem with gnocchi. There’s always a weird taste that doesn’t belong. Maybe preservatives?

  4. This looks great! I’ve actually never bought polenta; I always make it. Glad I’m not missing out.

  5. Minus the mushrooms, I’m totally in. I love polenta!

  6. Everything is better with mushrooms 🙂 But yeah, there is such a serious taste difference between prepared and homemade polenta. Thanks for sharing this dish!

  7. Love the sound of that sauce. Put it on polenta, pasta, mashed potatoes, chicken, beef, a slice of bread…..now I am just being ridiculous! Truly, this sounds wonderful!

  8. I made a spicy polenta (from scratch) a while back with some real stone ground polenta meal. I posted it on my blog a while back.

    I prefer to make it with a mashed potato consistency, rather than into a harder loaf to cut into rounds.

    That mushroom sauce would look gorgeous over some chicken-fried steak or some mashed potatoes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

