Chipotle Bean Tostadas

009

So, I wouldn’t really call myself a tostada fan. I never order them when at a Mexican restaurant. So I have no idea where I got this hair-brained idea at to make them at home. I must have seen some drool-worthy ones on Pinterest or Foodgawker or something.

032

Anyway, I decided I had to have them. They have actually been on the menu plan for a couple weeks and keep getting shuffled around – I’ve been putting them off. But damn, they were tasty! I wish I hadn’t waited this long!

016

Chipotle Bean Tostadas

6 corn tortillas
1 Tbls olive oil
1 medium onion, chopped
1 bell pepper, chopped (I used yellow)
1 tsp garlic, minced
1 29-ounce can pinto beans
1-2 chipotle peppers, minced
1 tsp adobo sauce
1 tsp cumin
1/2 tsp kosher salt

Optional toppings:

fresh chopped tomatoes or salsa
sour cream or plain greek yogurt
lettuce
chopped green onion or cilantro

Preheat oven to 400*. On a greased, lined cookie sheet, bake tortillas for 5 minutes. Flip, then cook 3 more minutes or until crispy.

In the meantime, in a medium saucepan, heat oil. Sauté onions and peppers until soft, about 5 minutes. Stir in garlic and heat one more minute. Stir in spices and peppers. Heat through.

Spread bean mixture on cooked taco shells. Top with optional toppings. I used arugula, fresh chopped tomatoes, greek yogurt and green onion. Enjoy!

2 Responses

  1. These look so delicious, fresh and easy. Yum!

  2. Your photos are really over the top, nice job!

Leave a Reply

