Mexican Sweet Potato Risotto

003

I could eat risotto everyday of the week and have made it at least a dozen different ways and it is always delicious. But for the sake of this blog and my own palate, I’m always on the hunt to try new and different varieties – the more outlandish the better! So as soon as I saw this recipe, I knew I would make it. Just from the title. Mexican Risotto? Heck yes.

And then I read the ingredients and I had to wipe the drool off of my laptop. My beloved chipotles in adobo sauce were featured. And I just happened to have a half open can in the fridge. It’s a sign.

007

Me, being me, I had to increase the amount of chipotle in the recipe.  I also omitted cheese. And I didn’t completely mash my sweet potatoes because I liked the idea of having bites of sweetness in the spicy risotto. I think I made a good call there. But if you want a fully creamy risotto, go ahead and cook those sweet potatoes into oblivion and mash them up really well.

022

Mexican Sweet Potato Risotto

3 sweet potatoes, or about 1 1/2 lb
4 cups vegetable/chicken broth + 4 cups water
1 tbsp olive oil
1 onion, diced
2 tsp minced garlic
12 oz arborio rice
3 chipotles in adobo, minced
2 tbsp adobo sauce
1/8 tsp hot chile powder
1 tsp cumin
1 Tbls lime
salt and black pepper, to taste

Cilantro for garnish

1.  Roast the sweet potatoes at 400 degrees for 45 minutes to an hour, or until fork tender.  Let them cool so that they can be touched, then cut them in half and scrape the insides out into a bowl.  Chop into bite-size pieces, mashing about half with a potato masher.
2. Bring 4 cups vegetable or chicken broth plus 4 cups water to a simmer. 
3. As the broth/water is getting to a simmer, head 1 tbsp olive oil in a nonstick skillet over medium heat.  Add the onion into the pan and sauté for 3-4 minutes or until translucent. Stir in garlic and sauté 1 minute or until fragrant.  Add the rice to the skillet and sauté for one minutes, stirring constantly so it doesn’t burn.  Add in the chipotle pepper and adobo sauce.  Stir.
4.  Pour the broth/water mixture into the rice in 1/2 cup-ish increments, stirring continuously, and only adding the next half cup after the previous one has almost evaporated.  Keep doing this until the arborio rice is just about al dente.  Add the sweet potato mash to this mixture, stirring it in until it is fully incorporated.  Add the cumin and chile powder.  Mix in.  Add the lime juice and salt/pepper to taste.

3 Responses

  1. This risotto looks truly stunning, beautiful color and I like the chunky sweet potato. Nice post and thanks for sharing this, I want to make it.

  2. Looks wonderful! THanks for sharing………….

  3. This looks good but I’d rather you mail me some instead haha!

Leave a Reply

