Wild Rice Salad with Miso Dressing

069

This was pretty much perfection. Salty, sweet, filling, nutritious. I’ve been gobbling this up the last few days and I think I might need to make another batch this weekend for my dad to try!

059

The best part for me was the tofu. Pan fried in coconut oil. Now, coconut oil is a staple in my kitchen but it is usually reserved for an oatmeal topping – I’ve never really known what else to do with it and in all fairness, I never really looked into it because the damn jar has a shelf life that is like a year long. And I , for some reason, didn’t ever consider actually cooking with it. I figured that it wouldn’t do well on high heat. But my word. This recipe changed my life. Or at least my life in the kitchen. Sweet and crunchy tofu? Heavenly.

035

I paired it with simple pan fried cod (done in the same pan as the tofu so it had a little residual coconut oil, plus a little sesame oil, salt, pepper), and steamed snap peas tossed in soy sauce and ginger. Dare I say they were perfect accompaniments?

062

Wild Rice Salad with Miso Dressing

1 cup wild rice blend

14 oz. block extra firm tofu
2 tsp. coconut oil
2 tsp. soy sauce or gluten-free tamari
fresh ground pepper

1 heaping cup shredded carrots
3/4 cup cooked, shelled, organic edamame
3 Tbsp. sesame seeds
1/2 cup chopped cilantro

2 Tbsp. white miso
2 Tbsp. agave nectar or brown rice syrup
1 Tbsp. sesame oil
2 1/2 Tbsp. rice vinegar
4 oz orange juice

Rinse the wild rice blend. Bring two cups water to a boil. Add the rice, turn the heat to a simmer, cover and cook until all the water is absorbed (about 35-40 minutes), adding a bit more water if necessary to finish cooking. You will see a tuft of white pop from the center.

Wrap the tofu between a few layers of paper towel or a dish cloth and set it aside to drain for 10-15 minutes. Cut it into a 1/2” dice. Heat the coconut oil over medium high heat. Add the tofu and sauté for about five minutes. Sprinkle the soy sauce and a few grinds of fresh pepper over the top and sauté another few minutes until the edges are browned. Turn off heat and set aside.

Whisk all of the dressing ingredients together.

In a large bowl, combine the rice, tofu, sliced carrots, edamame. Toss everything with the dressing. Add the sesame seeds and cilantro and give it another toss. Serve room temperature or chilled.

2 Responses

  1. Can you come over and make some for me too? Looks and sounds great!

  2. What a lovely salad. I have never used coconut oil before, ever. I am intrigued. I can’t wait to make this, I’m a tofu and salad lover. Bright and fresh looking, thanks for sharing this.

Leave a Reply

