Roasted Eggplant and Chickpea Stew

013

This was one of the last detox meals and we definitely ended on a high note. For me, eggplant dishes are hit or miss. I could do without grilled eggplant, eggplant parmesan, and stuffed eggplant boats. But give me ratatouille or babaganoush and I’m all over it. I think the secret is that I just like it roasted. And without skin.

016

But I think the reason I really liked this recipe was the cinnamon. And it’s really hearty and filling for a vegetarian meal. I did cook up a cup of quinoa on the side – in the future, I would just stir it in. Also, the original recipe was for a crockpot meal. I did it on the stovetop and it took about 45 minutes.

Roasted Eggplant and Chickpea Stew

Ingredients
  • 1 cup chopped mushrooms
  • 2 large eggplants (about 1 1/2 pounds each)
  • 3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil, divided
  • 2 large onions, thinly sliced
  • 6 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 teaspoons dried Italian seasoning
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon freshly ground pepper
  • 2 15-ounce cans chickpeas, drained
  • 2 15-ounce cans diced tomatoes
Preparation
  1. Preheat oven to 400°F.
  2. Peel eggplants, if desired, and cut in half lengthwise. Brush the cut sides liberally with 2 tablespoons oil. Place on a rimmed baking sheet, cut-side down, and roast until tender, about 25 minutes. Let stand until cool enough to handle. Cut into 1-inch cubes.
  3. Meanwhile, heat the remaining 1 tablespoon oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Add onions and cook, stirring frequently, until softened, 3 to 6 minutes. Add garlic, Italian seasoning, cinnamon, salt, pepper, and the chopped mushrooms; cook, stirring, for 1 minute. Add the chickpeas, tomato and eggplant. Bring to a boil and cook, stirring occasionally, for 5 minutes.
7 Responses

  1. You had me at roasted eggplant! *swoon*

  2. Leah, I have been loving you detox meals this time around (although now I’m thinking I should maybe go back and check your past ones). Now that I’m done treatment I’m looking to clean up my eating a little – more veggies, less meat, etc, lots of cancer-fighting foods. Anyways, these posts have given me lots of ideas, thank you!

  3. This is a fabulous detox meal. I love the roasted eggplant!

  4. I’m definitely picky about my eggplant, too. I think it’s a texture thing. This looks yummy and simple! I like the idea of adding quinoa, too.

  5. I really like roasted eggplant too (along with the fried). This looks like a really hearty stew and I like that it is vegetarian.

Leave a Reply

