Sweet & Spicy Carrot Bisque

051

So, I know we just had another carrot soup last week but this recipe came in my email from Vegetarian Times. I was going to delete it after just seeing the title but somehow I accidentally opened it on my phone and my eyes caught one of the ingredients: banana. Um, say what? A banana in my soup? Ok, now this is something I must try. Apparently banana curry is a semi-common thing that I’ve apparently never heard of. Strange. I’m happy to report that the banana did add a nice silky texture to the soup and a bit of sweetness to cut the spice and didn’t taste like banana at all.

047

Sweet & Spicy Carrot Bisque

  • 1 Tbs. olive oil
  • 1 large sweet onion, diced
  • 1 tsp.  salt
  • 4 tsp. minced fresh ginger
  • 1 Tbs. curry powder
  • 1 pinch cayenne pepper
  • 4 1/4 cup water (or vegetable broth)
  • 5 large carrots, peeled and cut into 1/4-inch rounds
  • 1 ripe banana, peeled and sliced
  • 1 13.5-oz. can light coconut milk
  • 2 1/2 Tbs. lime juice

1. Heat oil in large saucepan over medium heat. Add onion and and sauté 5 minutes, or until onion is soft. Stir in ginger, and cook 1 to 2 minutes, or until fragrant. Add curry powder, cayenne, and 1/4 cup water. Cook 1 to 2 minutes, stirring to coat onion and ginger with curry mixture.
2. Add carrots, banana, 1 tsp. salt, and 4 cups water, and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to medium-low, and simmer, uncovered, 25 minutes, or until carrots are soft enough to be pierced with fork.
3. Purée soup with immersion blender or in batches in blender. Return soup to pot, and stir in coconut milk and lime juice, reserving a small portion of the coconut milk for garnish.
4. Ladle soup in bowls, and garnish with coconut milk into each serving.

8 Responses

  1. Your soup looks like it’s smiling at me. I’ve had banana curry a few times and really liked that it was sweet, but the sweetness wasn’t overpowering.

  2. Okay I was sold at coconut milk. Bookmarking this.

  3. I bet this is so wonderful. I love the sweet and spicy combo and this looks like the perfect winter warm-me-up! So many delicious flavors!

  4. I’ve never tried carrot soup, but this sounds SO interesting!! I think I’ll have to give this a whirl!

  5. Wow, I have never heard of or thought of adding a banana to a soup, but with all the other ingredients, I bet it is delicious! I will definitely try this, thanks for sharing!

  6. Banana huh? I am intrigued…truly! Looks great and I love carrot so I am sold

  7. Hmmm, I never would’ve thought to add a banana, but that’s pretty genius. I bet that would be great in a squash soup, too!

  8. Sounds yummy….never thought of adding banana to carrot soup. 🙂 Think I’m going to make this soon!

Leave a Reply

