Sweet Potato Chipotle Chowder

004

So, it wasn’t until I was done making this soup and took a taste that it was really familiar. Wait, have I made this recipe before? Hmph. I racked my brain then searched the good old blog. No, I haven’t made this recipe before but I have made one that was super similar: Jalapeno Sweet Potato Chowder. Apparently I have a thing for spicy sweet potato soups? This one is detox-friendly but the Jalapeno version was better I think… probably only because it had meat.

007

Sweet Potato Chipotle Chowder

  • 1 tablespoon peanut oil
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 2 teaspoons minced garlic
  • 2 large sweet potatoes (about 2.5 pounds total), cut into 1-inch chunks
  • 4 cups vegetable stock
  • 1/2 tablespoon kosher salt
  • 3 medium chipotle in adobo sauce (Spicy! Add one at a time and taste test if you don’t love a lot of heat.)
  • 2 cups frozen corn kernels
  • 2 tablespoons molasses
  • additional salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste
  • Cilantro for garnish

In a large saucepan or soup pot, heat oil over medium heat. Add onions and garlic and sauté until just soft, 2 to 3 minutes. Add sweet potatoes and stock and bring to a boil.Reduce heat and simmer until potatoes are soft, about 10 minutes. Remove from heat.

Add the chipotle with sauce to the soup. Using an immersion blender or a food processor, puree contents of pot, in batches if necessary, until smooth. Reheat soup, stirring in the corn and molasses. Taste, adjust seasonings and serve.

4 Responses

  1. Sounds good & easy : )))

  2. I love a good thick chowder and this looks amazing. I can’t wait to try it with the chipotles in it. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

  3. I love this soup and also that it is vegetarian. The chipoltes are a very nice addition. Saw this on a Twitter retreat. Buzzed. Nice to meet you.

  4. Wow, this sounds amazing! I am a huge fan of sweet potato and anything spicy is bonus…. wish I had time to make it for lunch today!

Leave a Reply

