Pasta Primavera

040

Every time I make pasta primavera (which is infrequently), it is never exactly the same but it always comes out as a fresh, light pasta dish that leaves me wanting more. Only olive oil, vinegar, and lemon juice make up the “sauce” leaving the vegetables to be the stars of the dish. And it’s great because any veggie will do!

014

(Pippin likes them all but especially tomato!)

009

Usually, I go for just veggies. But this time, I added some veggie sausage that I picked up from Costco and it was a nice touch. (But oops, it wasn’t gluten free, silly me. Tummy seems to be handling it ok though.)

033

Pasta Primavera

12 oz pasta (I used super yellowy quinoa elbows but grew up with bowties)
2 Tbls olive oil
2 large carrots, thinly sliced
1/2 sweet onion, diced
3 cloves garlic, minced
4 veggie sausage links, halved lengthwise then thinly sliced
1 zucchini, halved lengthwise then thinly sliced
1 summer squash, halved lengthwise then thinly sliced
1 pint cherry tomatoes, halved
2 Tbls lemon juice
3 Tbls balsamic vinegar
1 Tbls dried Italian seasoning
1 tsp fresh ground pepper
1/2 tsp kosher salt

Basil chiffonade for garnish

Prepare pasta per package instructions.

Meanwhile, in a large skillet, sauté onion and carrots in olive oil until starting to soften. Stir in sausage and garlic, cook until sausage starts to brown and garlic is fragrant. Add squash and zucchini and gently stir. Allow to soften slightly but not get mushy. Stir in remaining ingredients and mix well. Combine with drained pasta.

Normally, I’d add a decent amount of parmesan cheese but alas, that is not detox friendly. But you know what? It didn’t really need it. I just garnished it with some fresh basil.

6 Responses

  1. There’s something about adding veggies to a plate of pasta that somehow always makes me feel better about eating a big plateful of carbs!

  2. I love your kitchen helper! And I always heard tomatoes were bad for dogs? Is that a wives tale? Grapes, too, I heard. Meh.. apparently chocolate is bad for dogs, too, and Randy eats it like crazy and he’s still kickin. Who knows. Never tried quinoa pasta but I want to some day.

    • I haven’t heard about tomatoes or grapes before! Brie told me that onions were bad so I stopped letting her eat those. Girl has a stomach of steel so who knows.

  3. Aww…such a great kitchen helper! Such a cutie patootie! I love a good pasta primavera and the idea of the veggie sausage links. Great detox meal!

  4. Pippin!! ❤

  5. You and Pippin look adorable! Our little pup will only vidalia onions…the others just aren’t good enough. She also eats grapes and bananas. I’ve never heard of them being bad for dogs (only chocolate and raw potatoes).

Leave a Reply

