Black Bean Burritos with Nacho Cheeze

005

So, I wasn’t planning on blogging this… it was just a concoction I came up with on the fly for lunch yesterday so I didn’t even measure anything out. But it turned out to be so darn tasty that it would be a travesty to not share it. It started with an impulse purchase at Trader Joe’s of some gluten-free brown rice tortillas. Black bean burritos came to my mind and that was that.

I started making the filling for the burritos and pulled out the tortillas. They were … interesting. A little plastic-y and stiff. I started to worry about our ability to just pick up and eat a burrito without it falling apart. And I feared it might be a little dry and bland. I thought about just pouring salsa all over but then I got the urge to whip up some nacho cheeze sauce to smother them in.

013

From start to finish, this lunch took me 15 minutes to make and made 4 huge and incredibly filling burritos. Awesome.

Black bean filling:

1 15-ounce can black beans, drained and rinsed
1 small can of diced green chiles
1 tsp olive oil
1/2 large onion, chopped
1 bell pepper, chopped

Saute onion and pepper in olive oil until soft. Stir in chiles and beans and heat through.

Spoon into warm tortillas and roll up that sucker up!

Nacho Cheeze Sauce:

1 cup unsweetened non-dairy milk (I used rice milk)
1 cup nutritional yeast
1 Tbls chili powder
1 tsp cumin
1 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp cayenne

Bring milk to a rolling boil in a small saucepan. Stir in remaining ingredients. Whisk well and continue a gentle boil for a couple minutes to let things thicken up.

Pour over burritos in excess. It’s amazing. I promise.

4 Responses

  1. Trader Joe’s and “impulse buy” are synonymous. Looks more than decent for something put together in less time it takes to watch bad sitcom.

  2. Sometimes “concoctions” yield the best food! I am stealing that burrito filling. Love me some green chilies!

  3. That sauce looks fabulous! Glad you decided to share.

  4. Don’t you love that impulse buying occurs at Trader Joe’s? I love it! These burritos sound amazing =)

Leave a Reply

