WIAW: Detox Week 1

So normally, I’ don’t blog my daily eats but I tend to get a lot of questions about detoxing and I also want to show how easy it can be, especially the first week! The best way to do that is to give you a day-in-the-life-of style post so why not hop on the “What I Ate Wednesday” bandwagon?

Yesterday was a rough day. It was the second day of our detox and my energy levels were not stellar. It was the first day back at work after a 4-day weekend. ‘Nuf said.

Monday, we worked the Vitamix for a breakfast smoothie but it had zero staying power so on Tuesday, I went with the standby: oatmeal.

091

For two: 2 cups unsweetened almond milk, 1 cup oats, 1 banana, 1 cup blueberries, 1/3 cup ground flaxseed, 1/4 cup almond slivers and cinnamon sprinkled on top. Huz and I usually end up with a 60/40 split on the batch. This kept me full for over 5 hours this morning. Pretty darn good for me!

And a side of pills:

078

Seen here is a multi-vitamin, B-Complex, D3, Vit-C, Glutamine, and Fish Oil.

All morning at work, I made a point to sip on water and tea. I forced myself to down a whole Sigg before lunch and one before leaving for the day. I think that’s a good habit to get into and gets me away from my desk more frequently thanks to my tiny bladder.

IMAG0112

Around 10:30, I broke into some fruit. One pear and one kiwi, fuzzy skin and all!

IMAG0113

Confession: I am terrible at eating fruit. In my defense, a bunch showed up on my intolerance testing (strawberries, oranges, apples, bananas – yes, I know I had some in my oatmeal this morning, it doesn’t seem to bother me in small doses). It’s also kind of a pain to prep and eat. Peaches and pears and plums are too juicy and messy to eat at my desk without cutting them up first. First World Problems, I know.

Moving on, for lunch I had leftover gumbo with a little brown rice that I made on New Years Day – black eyed peas for good luck!

IMAG0115

It was loosely based off of this recipe I have made before except I used dried beans, no chard, added okra, and also added veggie sausage links (not gluten-free, oops!).

IMAG0114

A few hours later, I had a tiny no-bake granola bar. I think it was a corner piece because it was super thin on one side.

IMAG0117

(Veggies + hummus would have been a better suited snack but I was heading out the door so portability wins.)

Dinner was a throwback to single days of yore! Faux Lo Mein. (Seriously. Second post ever on the blog mentions it’s goodness, back when Huz was the BF and I “invented” it a year before that. Actually, I didn’t invent it. I found it on AllRecipes. Here is a similar recipe here, I just use spelt spaghetti noodles instead of Chinese noodles and honey instead of sugar in the sauce.)

113

I added fresh basil and topped the noodles with sesame seeds and sriracha and it was pretty darn good. And very filling. Have to get my carbs in now while I can cuz they get thrown on the back burner later in the detox. Boo hiss.

And for giggles – on NYE, we ordered Chinese take-out (it’s tradition!). It ended up being terrible.

036

Anyone, highly entertaining to see very unhealthy ridiculously portioned pre-detox Chinese meal versus detox-friendly faux Chinese meal at home that ended up tasting way better and fresher. Funny how that works.

12 Responses

  1. Your dinner looks fancy as f*ck garnished with seeds! Yum!

  2. Thanks for posting the daily eats- we are following along with the detox at home and your ideas for meals help a lot (especially breakfast and snacks!). Happy New Year.

    • Great to hear that you are following along! Feel free to email me if you have specific questions. Breakfast is definitely the most challenging for us since we are so egg-dependent!

  3. oatmeal….sigh

  4. Great post! Can’t wait to read more about your detoxification. I definitely need to do this since all I ate over the holidays was pound after pound of sugar. Feel like yuck now. Happy New Year!

  5. Wow, that dinner looks amazing! I do the same thing at work with my Sigg bottle. I try to drink at least 3 bottles a day and I’m end up getting up from my desk at least every hour!

  6. I hear a lot about detox thing. I am really out of it. But I make lentil soups that yoga people use it for detox diet.you might have heard it Mung bean chili. If you wish you can check at my site.

    Happy new year with your detoxification.

  7. Your chinese noodle dish looks really good. I’m going to have to look at the recipe.

    I was craving Chinese a few months ago and went and got some… soooooo disappointing! I think for me it’s all about the sushi now.

  8. I am craving noodles, those look good! I’ll have to try it with some rice noodles after I finish the first two weeks of the SBD.

    I am the exact same way with fruit. I am not into eating whole pears and having it drip down my neck. I eat lunch at my desk anyway so it’d be bad news.

  9. I love how you post your eats esp during detox!! BTW – the noodles look so delish!!!! I WOULD HATE giving up carbs! boooo

Leave a Reply

