Detox: Week 1

This is mostly a repost from this original blog post. To find out more, check out this post.

This past weekend, we’ve dedicated a fair amount of time to prepping for the detox. We’ve loaded our grocery cart with a ton of fresh fruits and veggies, I’ve made detox-appropriate snack bags for our work drawers, and we’ve mapped out an exercise and meal plan.

We also did the dreaded pre-detox weigh in. The primary reason for this detox is not weight loss but it tends to be a happy side-effect. Thanks to an injury, my exercise regime has decreased substantially. And thanks to the time of year and my lack of will power, calorie consumption has been at an all time high and generally in the form of booze and chocolate. It happens. It’s the holidays. Life goes on.

We enjoyed a weekend of indulgences and clearing out the fridge of non-detox foods like cheese and bacon and champagne. And since I abhor food waste, it went into our bellies of course. And I feel like shit. Hello, food hangover! So I am really amped to get started.

Last time we detoxed, I was blogging daily eats. I’m not planning on doing that everyday but I will check in weekly with what a day looks like for us but here is a short rundown of the plan for this week:

Breakfasts: Smoothies, Oatmeal, or Quinoa
Lunch: Leftovers or salads
Dinner: Rockfish, Beans, Curries, Soups, Stir Fry’s
Snacks: No Bake Granola Bars, Brown Rice Cakes, Veggies w/ Hummus, Fruit, Nuts
Beverages: Water, Green Tea, Green Monsters

***

As I have said before, I am pretty  much replicating a detox program I did last year under the supervision of a Dietitian that I volunteered for. I am not an expert so please consult a professional if you have a lot of questions or concerns about detox!

Curious as to why I’m detoxing? Read this for a quick rundown!

So as I have mentioned, the detox is about decreasing and eliminating certain foods and really ramping up in the produce department. Here’s a cut and dry version of what I am following this first week.

And if you are following along with me, please note that I am basically an all-or-nothing kind of gal so a lot of the “decrease” things, I just straight up eliminate! But don’t stress it if you are still working on the decreasing! That’s what this week is for!

Decrease/Begin to Eliminate

Coffee

Alcohol

Sugar – look for evaporated cane juice, fructose, sucrose, high fructose corn syrup, etc to avoid also! They are all just different forms of sugar! Also avoid artificial sweeteners!

Refined Carbs – basically anything with white flour

Dairy – Rice/Almond/Oat milks are great alternatives this week! I’ll be sticking to unsweetened Almond Milk.

Animal Products – except fish and eggs okay this week

Processed Foods – frozen meals, packaged food items, etc.

Fruit Juices

Chemicals

Nicotine

Refined Oils – avoid safflower, sunflower, corn, soybean, and canola oils

Increase

Water – aim for 8 glasses a day!

Herbal/Green Teas

Veggies  – focus on colorful veggies and lots of green!! Asparagus, artichoke, broccoli, cauliflower, brussel sprouts, cabbage, kale, collards, dandelion greens, watercress, beets, radishes, burdock root, spinach, chard, squash, sweet potatoes

Fruit – BRIGHT colors! Berries, apples, melons

Plant sources of protein – beans, tofu, tempeh, edamame, nuts, some egg ok.

Whole Grains – brown rice, quinoa, kasha, barley, oats, millet, corn, whole wheat

Nuts/Seeds – almonds, walnuts, cashews, pecans, Brazil nuts, sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds, sesame seeds

Spices & Herbs – garlic, onion, basil, cilantro, chives, rosemary, parsley, garam masala, cumin, the list is endless!

Unrefined Oils – Olive, Sesame, coconut oil

Support The Program

There are other ways than just your diet to support this program!

Decrease your exposure to negative people and electronics (yay right) and try to exercise, practice yoga, use a sauna/steam room, practice deep breathing, and try not to eat late at night.

Additional supplements we’ll be taking: Multi-Vitamin, Vit-D, Vit-B Complex, Vit-C, Glucosamine, Glutamine.

6 Responses

  1. Sounds like a good detox plan to me.
    I know what you mean by the food hangovers, especially over Christmas. Why does everything that tastes so good at the time, makes you feel so rubbish the next day…

    All the best with your detox.
    Betty xxx

  2. I really love that you do this……I need to jump on board. I think it is such a good thing for your body, a good way to start the new year!

  3. Sounds like a great detox to me.

    I’m so with you on the all or nothing approach. I am doing phase 1 of the South Beach diet and am glad to eliminate all grains for a little bit. I feel like hell.

    Also no alcohol and sugar. I think my body is going to rebel for a bit.

  4. I admire you so much for doing this…good luck!

  5. Good luck with your detox! I’m also doing a cleanse (I’ll be posting about it tomorrow!!!). Happy New Year!

  6. Thanks for the great tips…nice reference for me.
    Happy Detoxing to you and Jodus

Leave a Reply

