Annual Detox in T-Minus 3 Days

Well, I don’t know if we can technically call it “annual” anymore. The first time we went through this program, I was volunteering with a dietitian to see if that is something I would be interested in pursuing. Anyway, that was in January of 2009. We were really happy with the results. So we did it again in 2010. Well, when January 2011 rolled around, I was in the midst of a bunch of testing for my GI issues and they told me not to make any significant changes so we passed on it.

And now, it’s January 2011 and we are back at it again.

Now, if you didn’t follow my 2010 adventure, don’t freak out and draw assumptions about us “detoxing”. It’s a word that gets thrown around a lot, usually along with juice cleanse and fasting and other ridiculous things that I don’t jive with. Basically, our detox is a 3 week program where we slowly and methodically clean up our diet until it’s sparkling.

The first week, you work on eliminating stuff. Alcohol, caffeine, meat, dairy, processed foods, sugars, refined carbs. I think all of that is pretty obvious. Then you start adding in teas, greens, and loading your diet with lots of fruits and veggies. The third week is completely vegan with very little grain action. Yes, there is more to it than that but that’s the basics.

In addition to the diet part, we also slow down our eating, do yoga, hit the sauna, exfoliate, de-clutter our lives, and spend some time away from the TV and laptops.

The main reason we like to do this is that by the end of the holiday season, we are lethargic and in a full sugar-induced coma. By diving head first into a structured detox, we get all the junk out of our system and start the year off on the right foot. Our digestive systems get back on track, our energy levels sky rocket, and yes, we generally shed the few pounds we packed on in the holidays.

So disclosure, in case you haven’t gathered it by now, I am not a dietitian or any other sort of healthcare professional. Please use your discretion if you want to follow along and participate along with me the next few weeks. The more the merrier! But don’t be an idiot. IF you have medical issues, talk to your doctor before trying any new diet and/or exercise regimes, blah blah blah. If you have questions, you can email me or leave a comment and I’d be more than happy to answer the best that I can.

If you want to know what it is like, read my 2010 recap, and scroll down to the comments and read Huz’s thoughts on it as well.

So this weekend, we are eating up the remainder of the fridge, doing a massive shopping trip to stock up on fruits and veggies, and working out the meal plan.

And I am so excited. (Just ask my husband, I’ve been excited for weeks.)

6 Responses

  1. I think this is a GREAT idea. I need to do something of the sorts.. especially since I am hitting Mexico the end of Jan.

    Looking forward to following it!

  2. wait….is this the post I’m not supposed to read????

  3. Wliminating alcohol and caffeine? You are a brave woman. Good for you. I’m looking forward to reading about it.

  4. yeah, that should be Eliminating.

  5. Sounds like a good idea. Being away from the laptop would be the most challenging.

  6. Andy and I are going to do a detox of sorts starting tomorrow. I am semi-dreading it because I have gotten so lax on sugar and struggle with cutting it out but I am also excited to start feeling better.

    I really like the yoga and sauna idea though. I need some of that action!

Leave a Reply

