Martini Monday: Frostini

I hope everyone has a safe and happy holiday weekend! As I suspected, it was pretty quiet around here.

047

Thursday night, we got together with my dad for our Christmas celebration. I was rushed with the cooking and ended up totally forgetting to take pictures of our completed meal.

043

I made Citrus, Walnut and Gorgonzola Salad, Pecan-Parmesan Pork with Port Sauce (say that three times fast!), roasted sweet potatoes and sautéed asparagus. Everything was really good! My dad’s girlfriend brought a raw avocado key lime pie with coconut crust that was really interesting – not quite like a traditional key lime pie but I liked it!

We did our gift exchange and we scored big.

142

Yep. Vitamix, FTW. It gives me the crazy eyes. I also got a gorgeous stained glass my dad made, a coffee mug with a picture from our trip to Hawaii, and some other fun little things. We spent the rest of the evening chatting and playing Life and spoiling the dog.

163

On Christmas Eve, I made lasagna and Huz made a caesar salad. Everything was delicious. Jodus officially loves this tradition.

205

After dinner, we headed to the movies and saw Girl with the Dragon Tattoo – it was really good! Long, hard to watch at parts, but very good. We also happened to run into a friend who gave us a pity invite for Christmas dinner… which we graciously took him up on.

Christmas morning, Huz and I exchanged stockings (yay for fun new nail polish and makeup!), made pancakes for breakfast, and attempted to Skype with my family.

Phone Picts 295

That many people at once doesn’t work so, for the record. But it was good to see everyone and we had some good laughs – like these personalized chef hats my mom made us!

Phone Picts 286

We headed over to our friends place for dinner and definitely felt like we were party crashing their family Christmas! But at least I had an excuse to get dolled up and wear a new sparkly sweater.

Phone Picts 301

We got over the awkwardness really quick once we saw what was for dinner!

image

Isn’t that the most beautiful smoked crown roast you have ever seen?! It was so good – moist and flavorful.

AND since you’ve stuck around this long to hear about our holidays, here’s an amazing martini recipe for you – too easy to suck down if you ask me! (Original recipe found here.)

168

Frostini

1 part Kaluha
1 part Bailey’s
1/4 part Peppermint Schnapps

175

6 Responses

  1. Oooh, I love your sweater. So pretty! Very seasonal of you.

  2. We’re getting a Vita too! We asked the fam to pitch in for one so we haven’t bought it yet. Can’t wait to steal all your vita mix recipes 😉

  3. hahaha if that’s not blender excitement, i don’t know what is. hooray for a vitamix!

  4. Looks like you had a great holiday and that martini sounds delicious!

  5. your face looks like mine when I opened my kitchenaid!

Leave a Reply

