Squash, Chickpea & Red Lentil Stew

084

Tonight, we are celebrating Christmas with my dad and his girlfriend. I’ve got a delicious menu planned – here’s hoping it all goes off without a hitch! Dad is ditching us for the actual holiday (first time in years we won’t be spending it with him!) to go to Oregon with his girlfriend. That means Christmas day will be just the two of us. I suspect it will be a quiet weekend around these parts. One more day of work to plow through, first!

Since I’m planning on cooking up a storm this weekend, a crockpot soup sounded fantastic and gave me plenty of time to tidy up the house in the evenings instead of standing over a hot stove then a basin of suds, doing dishes. Who am I kidding? I have a dishwasher and it’s name is Jodus!

086

Squash, Chickpea & Red Lentil Stew

Adapted from this recipe.

Ingredients
  • 1 15-ounce can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 2 1/2 pounds squash, peeled, seeded and cut into 1-inch cubes (I used acorn squash but butternut or kabocha would work well also.)
  • 2 cups sliced carrots
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 1 cup red lentils
  • 4 cups vegetable broth
  • 1/4 cup chopped chipotles (use less if you are sensitive to spice!)
  • 2 tablespoons tomato paste
  • 1 tablespoon minced peeled fresh ginger
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground pepper
  • 1/4 cup lime juice
  • 1/4 cup packed fresh cilantro leaves, chopped
Preparation
  1. Combine all ingredients in a 6-quart slow cooker.
  2. Put on the lid and cook on low until the lentils have begun to break down, 5 to 6 1/2 hours.
  3. Stir in lime juice. Serve sprinkled with cilantro.
5 Responses

  1. I am all about slow cookin’ these days!

  2. The recipes this week have looked wonderful. Where would you put them on your A-F ranking? I think our tastebuds must be similar (extra garlic and onions and spice!) and I’ve found your ranking system really helpful! Merry Christmas 🙂

    • Definitely an A! I loved it. That also reminds me that I haven’t updated that page with recipes in awhile! Oops! Glad you like my system!

  3. ooo lovely! This looks delicious and perfect for a cold winter day! Merry Christmas!

  4. This looks sooo delicious and perfect for getting some veggies in after all of the holiday eating.

Leave a Reply

