Spanish Style Beans & Rice

014

So I was going through my pictures on my laptop and doing some organizing when I came across this recipe that never got blogged. I’m pretty sure the reason is that the pictures turned out like utter crap. But the recipe was sooo good that I think I ought to share it. I snagged it out of Simply Gluten Free Dairy Free and made a few small changes, of course.

Spanish-Style Beans and Rice

2 15-ounce cans Great Northern beans, rinsed
2 T olive oil
1 onion, finely chopped
4 cloves garlic, minced
1 1/2 T paprika
1 T tomato paste
3 cups cooked brown rice
1 cup white wine
6 Roma tomatoes, halved (or cheat and just use 1 15-ounce can diced tomatoes)
4 bell peppers, quartered and seeded
1/2 cup pitted Spanish olives, chopped
1/4 tsp kosher salt

Preheat oven to 350*. Put tomatoes and peppers on baking tray. Roast for 25 minutes until tender. Remove from oven and let cool for 5-10 minutes. Peel off skins and cut into chunks.

Heat olive oil in a large, heavy-bottomed pot over medium heat. Add onion and cook, stirring 2-3 minutes until turning translucent. Add garlic and cook for 1 minute. Stir in tomato paste and paprika.

Add wine to the pot and simmer for 5 minutes. Stir in cooked rice and heat through. Stir in tomatoes, peppers, olives, salt and beans. Sprinkle with additional paprika and serve.

5 Responses

  1. I’ve never tried to make my own spanish rice and beans (I always used the box version). Yours looks much better!

  2. This looks and sounds delicious Leah! I am a definite beans and rice girl and am always looking for new ways to eat them. Thanks!

  3. Some dishes just to photograph well. This does sound delish though! Beans and rice are such a perfect combination! I am glad you decided to share this one.

  4. I like that you added olives, it looks good!

  5. 4 cloves garlic, my kind of rice! The Great Northern Beans are a great idea, love the creaminess of them. Nice change up from the black or pinto.

Leave a Reply

