Chipotle Sweet Potato Gratin

Chipotle Sweet Potato Gratin 007

Current obsession: canned chipotles in adobo sauce. I bought them specifically for Thanksgiving dinner to try out a new recipe and now I can’t get enough of them. I’ve been adding them to scrambles, mixing them into salsa to spice things up, and I’m constantly looking for new things to do with them. So when I saw this recipe in my overflowing Foodbuzz inbox, it got bookmarked and made the next day. The sweet & spicy combo can’t be beat. I modified the recipe to be dairy free but it turned out slightly too watery. Next time I might try incorporating some cashew cream in it to thicken it up some.

Chipotle Sweet Potato Gratin 016

Chipotle Sweet Potato Gratin

Olive oil spray
2 huge sweet potatoes, sliced 1/4” thick (I used a mandoline.)
1 large sweet onion, sliced 1/8” thick (Again, I used a mandoline.)
1/4 cup nutritional yeast (my attempt to thicken it)
1 1/4 cup unsweetened almond milk
2 Chipotle Chile’s in Adobo Sauce (plus 1 tsp adobo sauce)

1. Preheat over to 350 degrees. Spray a 3-4 quart casserole dish with olive oil.

2. In a blender or food processor, process the chipotle chilies, milk, and nutritional yeast until smooth.

3. Begin with a layer of sweet potatoes (about 2-3 cups) on the bottom of the casserole then a layer of half the onion. Add some of the chile-cream mixture (1/3 of the total), salt and pepper. Add another layer of sweet potato and the remaining onion and repeat with chile-cream, salt and pepper. Top with remaining sweet potatoes ending on the last of the chile-cream, salt and pepper.

4. Bake for 1 hour (or until potatoes are tender), stirring part way through if the top begins to become dry. Serve hot or room temperature.

4 Responses

  1. Is the sauce pretty spicy? This looks delicious. I love spicy potatoes–it reminds of eating them at brunch with eggs and hot sauce 🙂

  2. Chipotles are amazing. I get the can and chop them up then line an ice cube tray with plastic wrap, fill and freeze. Then I put them in a Ziploc bag and I have chipotle portioned whenever I need it. Chipotle gratin is such a great idea!

  3. I like the idea of spicy sweet potatoes! I tend to always add too much adobo sauce when I use chipotles and burn myself up. If you figure out the thickener let us know.

Leave a Reply

