2011 Resolutions: How Did I Do?

The year is winding down and it’s time to reflect on the past year. I know you are probably (or soon will be) inundated with resolution/recap posts but get over it. This is more for me than you anyway.

On January 1st, 2011, like so many others before me, I made a few goals for the year. And I didn’t forget about them after a few weeks like most people. I even checked back in at the halfway point for a status update. I think we’re close enough to the end of the year to give a final report.

Get a raise.

And not just a little chump one. I’m going all out here and aiming for a steep 15% raise.

image

Since checking in halfway through the year, no changes. So I’m still sitting at a 7% raise. I’m okay with that, considering the current market conditions (I work in finance).

Pay down debt.

And since numbers make goals easier to asses, I’m going to say that collectively, the husband and I, need to pay down at least $10k in credit card debt.

image

I’m happy to report that we are in a much better position with this. But still, we didn’t make our goal. We paid down $6k, NET. We almost reached $10k in payments but with interest and using our credit cards for a couple small emergencies (ahem, $500 vet bill), it obviously wasn’t all towards principle. I’m satisfied with the amount we’ve put down, especially the last 6 months, and if we can keep up on that, we’ll be credit card debt free in no time. (I hesitate to say debt free completely thanks to a car loan we refinanced and a couple student loans.)

Read more.

And for numbers sake, I’m going to say 12 books next year. One a month. I think it is doable. I want a nice mix of fun leisurely reads and educational reads.

image

Booya. I smashed this goal. And I’m still going strong. Goodreads and my local library (that now lends Kindle books!) made it really easy. I ended up increasing my goal to 52 and smashed that as well. I also joined a book club that I’m going to start attending in January. So excited, even if it is a bunch of old ladies (and one coworker). And for you curious cats, here’s a sneak peek at what I’ve been reading – a healthy mix of chick lit, memoir, and historical fiction. (You can follow my reviews here.)

imageimageimage

Complete New Rules of Lifting for Women program.

My goal is to finish it – with before and after pictures to show for it.

image

No pictures but it’s done. And a few stages of NROL. I’m proud.

Get outside.

I am hoping we spend some time working on the yard, hiking, and taking Pippin out.

image

This year, the weather pretty much sucked. More than usual Washington weather. We got a crappy Summer after a rainy Spring that led into a crummy Fall. BUT. I started running this year. I’m astonished. I actually enjoyed it. And I ran over 400 miles this year. And most of it was outside. And we squeezed in a few short hikes. So yes, I’d say mission accomplished with the “getting outside” goal.

Overall, this has been a pretty darn good year. I feel like we are starting to finally crawl our way out of debt while still being able to have (a lot of) fun. I’ll save you from a recap post but the highlights were definitely my trip to Hawaii and Arizona, running my first half marathon, then my second, and participating in Ragnar, and celebrating my first wedding anniversary.

Next year? I’m hoping for more of the same. Minus a move (hopefully). Keep working on paying down debt. Keep lifting weights and running and being active. Keep eating good food. Keep chugging along at work. Keep on keeping.

13 Responses

  1. I’m going to bet that you did better than most people *ahem* me. Your on a good track, I’m proud of you.

  2. You did a great job, progress is progress! I also ran my first half and paid down (a bit) of debt – I’m curious to see how much, I hope I did as well as you.
    I’m really impressed by the number of books you read, that’s going to avg more than 1 a week! I read in streaks, and I didn’t do very well with tracking it. I’m looking forward to borrowing some kindle books from my library, I wasn’t too impressed when I first checked out the website. Sorting by type wasn’t obvious – but maybe I’ll give in another shot.

    • Goodreads.com really did make it easy! And connecting with other book lovers and seeing their reviews really sparked an interest. I have a couple hundred books on my “to read” list now!

  3. You’re lucky you got a raise! We’ve had a wage increase freeze for like 2 years now. 😦

  4. Did you like the NROL book? I have been thinking about trying it…I’m really interested in more strength training and this seemed like a good resource!

    • I do like it. Also the Women’s one. He has the abs book out also and is coming out with a “life” book next year. I think it is all sound advice and I especially love his approach on women and weights. I would definitely recommend the women’s version first.

  5. Thanks for this post – I love to hear about goals and it reminded me that I need to do my own 2011 goals recap soon!

  6. Way to go with your goals! My husband and I got completely out of debt three years ago and it has changed our lives completely! I am rooting for you!!
    Also, I love how many books you’ve read. I just finished the first Hunger Games and can’t wait to get my hands on the other two!

  7. Glad to see you were able to accomplish some of your goals. Even though you didn’t get exactly where you wanted to be, you still made good progress!

  8. I did fine this past year because I didn’t make any resolutions! I have going a little more green on my resolution list this year – since i started school last year, I’ve definitely gotten a little lazy in that department!

  9. Reading more was actually one of my own resolutions as well, but it didn’t happen. *Sigh* Congrats on smashing that one out of the park. It’s really motivating to see how you tracked your progress…. I’m guessing I’ll have to do the same for 2012… but what will my resolutions be?? Gotta get cranking on that…

Leave a Reply

