Spaghetti Squash with Edamame-Cilantro Pesto

060

I almost can’t believe it but I’ve never had spaghetti squash before.

Now, most “normal” people would probably be in the same boat, “What the heck is spaghetti squash?” But I’m not normal. I’m a strange breed of girl that reads a lot of blogs, a lot of healthy living blogs, and generally tries any fad that frequents them. But I was hesitant on spaghetti squash. It’s taken me over a year to muster up the courage. And I don’t know what it was that I was so hesitant about. Maybe because I’m picky about squash? Or maybe because I’d really just rather have a big bowl of real spaghetti? Yeah, that’s probably it.

So why now? Well, it’s that whole boredom-in-the-kitchen thing. I have to try something new every now and thing to keep things interesting. So this was my answer. This week.

The recipe came out of my Cooking Light recipe book and can be found here. And besides the 25 minutes I spent shelling edamame, it was a really simple recipe. The flavors were interesting, and though squash is in season right now, the cilantro pesto made it feel more summery. And damn was it filling! (But don’t ever let anyone tell you that spaghetti squash is a good pasta replacement. It isn’t. The texture is similar to angel hair but that is where the similarities end. Embrace this, and you will be fine.)

066

7 Responses

  1. Looks great! I have a spaghetti squash that I want to cook up this weekend and was trying to come up with a creative topping!

  2. so…what does the squash taste like?

  3. I’ve so wanted to try this…..but I guess I’m a little scared. I’ve seen other bloggers treat it just like spaghetti…..I’m just not a squash fan – so I don’t know…….Maybe I should give it a whirl. This looks really good 🙂

  4. I’m really loving this edamame-cilantro pesto! Great idea!

  5. If it’s normal not to have tried spaghetti squash, then I am very abnormal! I LOVE spaghetti squash! Which is precisely the reason I clicked over to this post from Foodbuzz. It looked so intriguing! The edamame-cilantro pesto caught my eye. Amazing recipe! Can’t wait to give this a try!

Leave a Reply

