Date Night

Last night, Jodus and I made our way into the city for a much needed date night – after me ditching him for a week for sunshine, we needed some quality time together doing something fun.

Purple 002Purple 006

We got into the city around 3pm and had the munchies so we stopped in at Pike Place Brewery for a pint of beer (stout for me, ipa for him) and a side of nachos that were amazing and almost spoiled our appetite for dinner but was totally worth it.

Purple 008

We walked the streets of the city a bit, pleasantly surprised with the Christmas lights already donned on trees lining the streets. We did a little shopping – I scored a couple pairs of boots and my first ever pair of skinny jeans. It was actually kind of epic because we so rarely go shopping.

For dinner, we went to Purple, a swanky wine bar with a delicious looking menu. We saddled up at the bar since the wait for a table was over an hour. It actually worked out in our favor because the bartender was fabulous and we could easily bend her ear about the wines we were tasting.

Purple 019Purple 030

We started with flights of red wine – I selected the “A What From Where” flight that was very strange.

Purple 018

Husband selected the “Spain” flight and definitely liked a couple.

Purple 028

He liked the last one so much that we ended up ordering a bottle to go with our dinner.

Purple 033Purple 023

For dinner, I ordered the Gorgonzola and Pancetta pasta. It was very rich and amazing and makes me want to put walnuts in my pasta dishes.

Purple 040

Huz ordered the Radicchio Pizza. He actually didn’t care for the flavor, no fault of the kitchen, so we switched.

Purple 037

We finished off our meals by indulging in an Amaretto Flourless Chocolate Torte that was extremely decadent and I polished off most of the dish myself.

Purple 045

Sufficiently stuffed to the gills, we slowly made our way back towards the ferry terminal. We had a little time to kill so we swung into fado for a drink and it just so happened to be 80’s night so now I have Tainted Love stuck in my head.

 

7 Responses

  1. Aw yay date night! P.S. You look so pretty! Love the hair color.

  2. Looks like you had a great date night! That pasta looks amazing!

  3. What a cool looking restaurant! I hadn’t heard of this one and now I want to check it out next time I’m there.

  4. Looks like such a fun night! It makes me long for the weekend already, I need my own date night – complete with my own cute hubs, nachos and a wine flight.
    I can’t believe how early Christmas stuff is out this year, I guess I should just embrace it too 🙂
    You should definitely put walnuts in your pasta, I’ve used them in pesto (for pasta) before and it was perfect.

  5. Yum! I love Purple. Have you ever had their lobster mac and cheese? To-die.for. If you go to Purple again, you have to try it!

    What kind of wine was in your “What From Where” flght? I’m curious. Their wine list is so extensive it’s always so hard to choose. It sounds like a What From Where flight might give you a little taste of everything.

    I always get overwhelmed and just order a bottle of Bordeaux or Cabirnet Franc. Yum. If you know what you like, why not…right? 🙂

    Cheers.

    http://www.foodpearl.com

    • Um, it was a pretty random flight of obscure wines from all over. I didn’t love it! I will definitely have to try the lobster mac next!

Leave a Reply

