10 Things

Thank you, Shelby, for giving me an excuse to do an easy, half assed post to finish off my week on vacation!

image

So, 10 random things about me.

1. I am very competitive when it comes to board games.

image

True story: my husband and I are no longer allowed to play against each other because things get too vicious. It’s generally fine if a moderator is present but otherwise, it’s a no-go. Also, Settlers of Catan has elicited some pretty harsh words out of one or both of us. 

2. I was on Facebook when it was called TheFacebook.com.

image

Also, I’m one of those people people that has an obscene number of tagged photos. I was a bit of a photo whore in college so I suppose it makes sense that I turned into a narcissistic blogger, right?

3. I am a planner.

image

Some could go as far to say a bit obsessive compulsive about it. I get anxious without a plan – hence my Google Calendar that has specific calendars for workouts, meals, blog posts, my husbands schedule, my schedule, our schedule, task items, and our finances. And I may or may not have mentally registered for 3 or 4 races for 2012 already. And I may or may not have half a dozen pieces of paper in my purse with lists scribbled on them. And things like showering and doing the dishes mar or may not appear on said lists.

4. I’m a picker.

image

I pick my nose. And scabs. And zits. And blisters. And I pick on my husband. And my boss. And on my brother. I have no shame.

5. I don’t really have much fashion sense. And I don’t really care.

image

That second part is a newish revelation. I added some fashion blogs to my reader to try and get more into it, thinking I would feel better about myself if I was a little more put together but then I decided it wasn’t worth it. Maybe if I had a job where it mattered. Or if we went out more often. I mean, I clean up decently enough but I would never say I’m fashionable.

6. I want a new phone. Desperately.

image

Right now, we are rocking the Blackberry Storm. The original. From 2008. That’s ancient in smartphone technology. I know I want a droid. I know I don’t want to pay an arm and a leg. We are eligible for upgrades but I trying to hold out but I’ve been researching it to death and still haven’t figured out what I would want to get to replace our Storms.

7. Seven is my favorite number.

image

It was my mom’s (probably because she was born on the 7th) and I adopted it. It was my soccer number! And I love the movie Se7en. And my husband was born on the 27th. And my ladybug tattoo has 7 spots.

8. I’m very lazy.

image

I have to literally talk myself into doing most things. I know it may be a surprise to many of you and not to others (Mom) but it’s true. That is why things like races (see: competitive nature) and programs like New Rules of Lifting (see: planner) really help me to motivate me to get moving. But I also realize that I’m a much happier person when I’m accomplishing things so I force myself to. But Sundays? Sundays, I succumb and don’t get out of my pajamas if I can help it.

9. I’m not a very good mutt mom.

image

I adore adore adore Pippin, but I’m coming to terms with the fact that I’m not the best mutt mom. See: lazy. I don’t walk her as much as I should. We probably don’t give her baths regularly enough. We let her sleep on the bed. And the couch. She eats table scraps and licks plates. But she loves me/us, regardless. Or maybe even more so. And that’s why I love dogs. (And have been secretly fantasizing about getting another, possibly even a puppy but don’t tell her I said that!)

10. I am a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad wife.

image

It’s true. I swear. You can ask my husband. In addition to being lazy, I also ditch him on totally fabulous vacations… like going to Hawaii. Yep, I didn’t go with him. I’m with my dad. And I’m a total moocher. And a Daddy’s girl. It’s a business trip for him and I’m his “guest” so it’s pretty much a free ride for me. I couldn’t turn that down! Not even with the sad puppy eyes that Jodus and Pippin gave me! They’ll forgive me one day.

I hope.

(I’m not going to tag a bunch of people because most of who I would tag has already been tagged and if you haven’t and want to play along, consider this your tag!)

10 Responses

  1. I love you for not tagging a bunch of people 😉

    I pick everything too. Zits are the best. And who doesn’t pick their nose?! everyone does it, few admit it.

    And I wish I cared about fashion, but I totally don’t. Oh well, this maked getting ready a lot quicker.

    And I’d be a terrible wife. Which is why I plan on being the first jewish nun. At least I’ll not have to worry about the outfits.

  2. Um…I don’t think that makes you a bad wife or mutt mom, I think it makes you smart! Free(ish) Hawaiian vacation? Who would turn that down? (BTW, I’m obviously completely jealous that you’re there right now) I have an HTC droid and like it- except I’m due for a new one in a few months and recently it has started getting SO SLOW. Other than that, it has been a pretty good phone.

  3. You’re like my bf. He is so competitive in board games that we can only play a few games and yes–other people help but not by much! 🙂

    I was on facebook when you had to be added through your college or whatever.

    I have no fashion sense either. I’m such a jeans and running shoes kinda girl. I try to do better but it’s hard. 🙂

  4. love this post. I relate to almost everything you put up there, except the dog stuff 😉

  5. I love and agree with numbers 3 and 6. I, too, am a major planner. My boyfriend isn’t. It’s a minor issue sometimes. In terms of phones I am stuck on the fact that I don’t want to pay for a data plan and so all the non-data-plan-requiring phones are crap… Don’t know what to do about that.

  6. I think its funny that you feel like you have no fashion sense…cause I always think you look awesome! Okay…no always…we all need jeans/t-shirt days,etc…

  7. I am a very competitive board game player as well, and usually I do win but when I don’t… watch out! And I too am guilty of letting my dog sleep on the bed, cuddle on the couch, don’t walk her as much as I should, and feed her table scraps. But now, she’s become a little pudgy so I am working on the more walks and no table scraps part!

  8. You speak so much truth, but I know for a fact your a good mutt mom and wife, they both feel loved and cared for! Cute post (of course none of it was news to me).

  9. OMG! Thought half those genes (?) fell out of the loop after me–
    Love ya like ya are kiddo!!

  10. I was on “The Facebook” too, for the sole reason of seeing who was in my classes. I loved that feature, even if I felt a little stalkerish checking out my classmates.
    I think I’m lazy and a bad wife too…I’m working on it and waiting to grow up, but nothing’s happening. I’m not sure if I should keep waiting, or maybe I should try harder 🙂

Leave a Reply

