Guest Post: Mexican Style Black Beans

Leah’s note: I’m off frolicking in Hawaii with my dad! Leave it to my mom to offer up a guest post, complete with embarrassing childhood photos. Gee, thanks.

Hi I’m Rhonda, Leah’s Mom, also known as The Kitchen Witch. I’m guest posting for Leah while she is off with dad in Hawaii, spending quality time with her dad and the Mai Tai’s and the beach and getting lei’d. But I’m not jealous or anything. Nope, I’m happy to sitting up here in the Northern tundra, blogging in my parka.

My site is almost the polar opposite of Leah’s (she started hers first BTW-I just copied). Leah’s site if full of mostly healthy recipes and she blogs about living a healthier lifestyle (but not too healthy, read: pizza and beer). My site is full of not so healthy meals, so unhealthy that some come with a health warning! I don’t blog about a healthier lifestyle either (read: Harleys and parties).

Leah's First Birthday0001

But it wasn’t always that way for Leah, as you can see in this photo of her on her very first birthday, the love of chocolate came at an early age for her. She obviously enjoyed playing with her food, something she still enjoys but she is much cleaner about it now.

And I don’t always cook and post unhealthy items (they are just my favorites). For example, this Mexican Style Black Beans is so good you would never guess that it’s actually good for you. It tastes better than any I’ve had in our local restaurants. I served it over brown rice and another healthier option. It probably would have been a lot healthier if I didn’t consume ½ of it by myself…guess I’ll never learn.

DSC_0618

Mexican Style Black Beans

1 tablespoon Olive Oil
2 Large garlic cloves, finely chopped
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1 (15 ½ ounce) cans black beans, rinsed and drained
1 can (14.5 ounce) can reduced-sodium chicken broth
1 teaspoon minced chipotles en adobo
¼ cup chopped fresh cilantro
2 teaspoons fresh lime juice

Heat the oil in a large saucepan over medium-high heat. Add the garlic and cumin; cook stirring constantly, until fragrant, about 30 seconds. Stir in the beans, broth and chipotle en adobo, bring to a boil.

Remove the bean mixture from the heat and coarsely mash with a potato masher. Return to heat, cook stirring occasionally until slightly thickened, about 15 minutes. Just before serving, stir in the lime juice and cilantro. Serve over brown rice and garnish with sour cream and additional cilantro if desired.

Source: Simply Beuno cookbook

Cook’s Tip: Chipotles en adobo come in a small can with way more than you usually need. To save the excess use this method: Mince the remaining chipotles en adobo, line an ice cube tray with plastic wrap.

Fill the tray with the chipotles and their sauce (you will get 6 to 8 cubes) and freeze. Once frozen, pop out of the tray and store in a label freezer bag or container. Now you have premeasured chipotle en adobe on hand for soups, chili’s, stews and even sauces.

One Response

  1. I love spicy Mexican style food, but I’ve never cooked with chipotles en adobo. I bet that is what my beans are missing, they never taste like the ones I get in restaurants!
    Thanks for the plastic wrap tip…it sounds much neater then the way I do it 🙂

Leave a Reply

