Spicy Thai Sweet Potato Soup with Coconut Milk

029

In my book, Thai cuisine can do no wrong. It is one of the few cuisines (right up there with Indian) that I love the flavors so much I could eat it for a few days in a row. And if you know me well, you know that’s a big deal. I have the attention span of a gnat when it comes to food and hardly make the same thing twice. A typical weekly meal plan has our palates travelling throughout the world on a whirlwind tour.

009

This soup, even though it is a thinner soup (as opposed to a thick bisque or stew), it was really hardy. And delicious. Don’t skip the fish sauce, unless you are really adverse to fish (or vegetarian).

Spicy Thai Sweet Potato Soup with Coconut Milk

Adapted from a Curry & Comfort recipe.

Ingredients: 
4 large sweet potatoes (around 2lbs) cut into chunks
4 cups chicken or vegetable broth
2 chiles (sliced)
1 medium onion chopped
6 cloves of garlic minced
1 tsp of grated fresh ginger
1 tsp of curry powder
1/4 cup of fish sauce (or vegetarian version of fish sauce available in Asian Markets)
1 can regular coconut milk
4 cups of water
2 Tbls lime juice
Thai Bird Chilies and Scallions for garnish

In a large soup pot, add 1 Tbs of olive oil.  Add the onion and green chiles.  Cook for 2 minutes.

Then add the ginger, garlic and lemon grass. Sauté for another minute. 
Add your sweet potatoes and cook for another 1-2 minutes.

Then add your dry spices and cook for another minute.  Add the stock of your choice (chicken or vegetable), water and fish sauce or vegetarian equivalent.  Simmer for 30 minutes on medium high heat until all vegetables are very tender.

Then use either a hand immersion blender or a regular blender to make the soup smooth.  Add a can of coconut milk and simmer for another few minutes.  Check for the seasoning of salt in the dish here.  If you need more salt, add more fish sauce or salt as needed.  Turn stove off then add the juice of one lime or to taste.

Garnish with sliced scallions or peppers.

7 Responses

  1. Mmmm that looks yummy. I absolutely looooveee coconut milk mixed into savory dishes (like green curry chicken!) but it’s so calorie-ific. 😦

  2. Sounds perfect for a rainy day! I might not puree it though, I like my soups chunky 😉 Maybe I will though because yours looks so pretty!

  3. You know, I never think I like Thai food until I eat it. Every single time I am reminded that I LOVE it, but then I quickly forget. This dish sounds great… thank you for reminding me of my love for Thai food!

  4. This soup looks delicious!! I really love the Thai flavors you added to this!

  5. Looks so pretty!!!

  6. Such a beautiful picture! Every time I try and make a lovely swirl, I get, well . . . a mess! And I love the bowls. Now I know why I got that fish sauce in the pantry!

Leave a Reply

