Patty Cake, Patty Cake

029

A couple weeks ago, I inquired for some ideas to use up all the pattypan squashes I’ve been getting. Susan suggested baking with it like pumpkin. I thought about it for a second and then shot the idea down. Pattypan seems to have a pretty high water content and isn’t super meaty like pumpkin. And the idea of roasting and pureeing it didn’t sound appealing at all.

But then I had an “ah ha!” moment. What if I bake with it… but like I would with zucchini instead of pumpkin? This could work. I’ve added shredded zucchini to muffins, breads, and even made a cake out of it. Now this, this I can do. So what do I do? Do I want to make a bread? Meh. I’d rather have banana bread. Muffins? That’s not really exciting.

And then I giggled.

I’d have to make cake.

I just used my husbands favorite Zucchini Cake recipe and subbed 1 large seeded and shredded pattypan squash for the zucchini. (Cream cheese frosting, ftw!)

032

Patty Cake

Cream: 2 cups grated pattypan squash 
               3 eggs
              1 cup white sugar
              1 cup light brown sugar
              1 cup canola oil

Add:      1 cup white flour
              1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
              2 tsp baking soda
              2 tsp cinnamon
              2 tsp vanilla
              1 tsp salt
              1/2 tsp baking powder

Bake at 325 for 45-60 minutes until top is brown and springs back.

6 Responses

  1. “Patty cake” definitely made me smile, as did the cats 🙂 Part of me just wants to make this so I can say “patty cake” and attempt to trick my husband into liking squash.

  2. The first time I saw that cat video, I’m not kidding I must have watched it 5 times- hilarious. 🙂 Great idea- looks like it turned out really well! Could you taste the squash or did it blend in like zucchini do?

    • It totally blends in – you can’t taste it at all! And it actually made the cake super moist which I love. I’m thinking I’ll make a batch of pattypan bread to pawn off on coworkers to get rid of the rest.

  3. Ahhhh, grating it! A fabulous idea!! I bet this tasted fantastic, especially with the cream cheese frosting 😉

    Also, the number of cat videos I watch on YouTube has multiplied since being on sick leave. This post did not help my problem.

  4. Love the name, and of course, the cats! This cake looks delicious!

  5. Squash cake is perfect this time of year and yours looks tasty! I would rather have something that melds into the batter than big chunks-so I am all for this cake. Cat picture is cute and I love the recipe name-well done.

Leave a Reply

