Creamy Cilantro & Coconut Chicken

014

Next to basil, cilantro is my favorite fresh herb. Dried? It leaves little to be desired. But a bunch of fresh cilantro is almost always in my fridge. I even tried to grow some in my pathetic garden this year but I have a black thumb and the weather didn’t really cooperate. This Thai-inspired dish really highlights the fresh cilantro. It turned out a little soupy as written so I’ve adjusted it below for you guys to try. I served this Creamy Cilantro & Coconut Chicken over pad thai noodles. But it would be better over rice, and easier to eat, since the rice would absorb some of the coconut milk. The flavor was very reminiscent of a soup I’ve made recently that I loved so needless to say, I really liked this as well.

001

Creamy Cilantro & Coconut Chicken

1 bunch cilantro, chopped
6 cloves garlic, peeled, minced
1/2 tsp black pepper
kosher salt
2 tsp sesame oil
2 skinless, boneless chicken breast, cut into 1 inch cubes
1 medium onion, diced
1 cup coconut milk
2 tbsp fish sauce

Place the cilantro, garlic and rock salt into a mortar and pestle and pound into a paste.

Heat the vegetable oil in a large pan over medium high heat. Cook the chicken for about 3-4 minutes, then add the onions and cook until the onions just start to soften. Add the cilantro paste, coconut milk, and fish sauce. Let cook for about 8 minutes until the chicken is cooked and the sauce thickens a little.

4 Responses

  1. I love it too – but my husband is one of those weird cilantro-haters. Like, HATES it. I’ll save this one to make next time he’s outta town. 🙂

  2. this looks delicious! Dried cilantro is a strange concept. I got some included in a spice kit I bought once…it had less flavour than dried parsley! Theresa

  3. I love cilantro and I do NOT know why it is difficult to grow. I saw some coconut milk in the pantry last night and wondered what I was going to make. I found a recipe! Looks delicious.

  4. I’m right there with you with basil and cilantro. I’m obsessed with cilantro so this pasta looks incredible to me!

Leave a Reply

