CSA Weekly

059

Only one leafy green this week? Get out of town.

083

Our bag continues to look pretty meager these days but I was stoked to see little corn cobbers! I wonder if the purple guys are multi-colored inside?

064

I’m excited to see a lot more of those fun Hungarian peppers! A lot of people (and by a lot I mean more than two) have been asking me about these guys and I find them to be very similar to jalapenos, but a deepish purpley-black color and a little smaller. Very fun.

074

Potatoes and garlic snuck back in this week which always makes me happy.

079

And another flying saucer pattypan squash that I have no idea what to do with, yet again. This guy continues to stump me. Would still appreciate some recipe link love if you have any brilliant ideas in that department. As of right now, I’m thinking that its looks are the only thing it has going for it.

066

7 Responses

  1. Wonder if the pattypan squash would lend itself nicely to a dish like this? http://www.dailygarnish.com/2010/10/harvest-root-vegetable-pie.html Either as part of the filling or mashed on top. From the looks of it though, it’s looks a little on the bland and watery side. Oh! Oh! What about mashing it and adding it to baked goods like pumpkin? Muffins maybe?

    • Susan, I am finding them to be super watery so I’m not sure how well it will work in baked goods. That why I did it in a soup last time. I think it is just because we are getting really big ones.

  2. I love looking for recipes and I found three you might get inspiration from? Obviously not tested by me as I have never touched a patty pan. I also like Susan’s idea of incorporating them into muffins or bread maybe combined with banana?

    http://chocolateandzucchini.com/archives/2009/08/roasted_patty_pan_squash_and_herbed_chickpeas.php

    http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/pattypan-squash-with-eggs-10000001823284/

    http://www.bookofyum.com/blog/gluten-free-potato-free-pattypan-squash-latke-fritter-recipe-7506.html

  3. That squash looks like fall decor to me! Bummber about the slim pickings this week, but what you got looking good.

  4. Pattypan looks more like zucchini than acorn squash, but I’ve made stuffed acorn squash before and it was pretty good. I don’t remember specifics, since it was last year, but I based it on this recipe
    http://www.eatingwell.com/recipes/southwestern_stuffed_acorn_squash.html and I know I used canned diced tomatoes and a bit of cheddar cheese.
    I saw Angela’s recipe too, something like that might work or perhaps something along the lines of a zucchini boat? Maybe with some quinoa or rice to help absorb some of the liquid? Here’s a zucchini boat,
    http://www.dailygarnish.com/2010/07/quinoa-stuffed-zucchini-boats.html
    Depending on how brave you are feeling, you might be able to cook a quinoa mixture right in the squash?
    If all else fails, you could just slice it up and grill/roast it like zucchini or summer squash.

Leave a Reply

