Dijon Baked Salmon

044

Pretty much every week, I buy a fillet of wild caught Alaskan or Canadian salmon – from Costco, for about $15. It’s a little steep for a hunk of heat but I adore salmon and justify it by touting the benefits of the omega-3’s. And the fact that we can get 4-5 meals out of it and if we ordered it at a restaurant, one meal would cost us the same as those 4-5 I can get at home.

035

Typically, I fall into the same habits with topping the salmon: lemon and dill, butter and brown sugar, lemon pepper, jam glazed. Regardless of the repetition, it is always one of my favorite meals of the week, even if I don’t share it with you guys.

But this one is worth sharing.

051

Dijon Glazed Salmon

Dijon Glaze

2 T butter, melted
2 T honey
3 T dijon mustard

Combine butter, honey, and dijon in a small bowl. Set aside.

Breadcrumb Topping

1/4 cup dried breadcrumbs (I used gluten-free corn-based crumbs)
1/4 cup chopped nuts (I used blanched almond slivers but walnuts would be perfect.)
1 T chopped chives
salt and pepper

Combine breadcrumbs, nuts, chives, and salt and pepper in a small bowl and set aside.

Preheat over to 400*.

To prepare the salmon fillet, lay on a foiled cookie sheet. Top with dijon glaze then sprinkle with breadcrumb topping.

Bake for 12-15 minutes, depending on the thickness of the fillet.

6 Responses

  1. Was it really sweet?

    I love salmon and make it often. I’ve done something similar and it was just okay. I like mixing Dijon with brown sugar and baking the fish. Sometimes it can be a little overly sweet but it’s good.

  2. Yum, I like the idea of adding the breadcrumb mixture. I usually go basic, too, but sometimes it’s nice to get a little fancy!

  3. I love salmon so this sounds really tasty! Great idea with the breadcrumb topping!

  4. I love salmon, this sounds great.

  5. I love fish, but I never really “do” anything with it…I tend to be lazy and just sprinkle some seasoning on it and grill it until it looks done. This recipe looks delicious, and I love the fact that it makes quite a few meals. We don’t have a Costco nearby, but maybe BJ’s has something like this.

Leave a Reply

