Mexican Meatball Soup

064

Yep, it is officially soup season. Not that I don’t eat soup year round, anyway. I was so happy with with the Armenian Meatball Soup I made this past spring that when I saw Mexican Meatball Soup a month later on Foodbuzz, it got bookmarked! And here we are, four months later, finally getting around to make it.

078

It was sort of a combination of the Armenian Meatball Soup and a Chicken Tortilla Soup and it was really really good and really really filling.

053

Mexican Meatball Soup

The Meatballs
20 oz of ground turkey
1 1/2 cup bulghur, soaked in 1 1/2 cup water
1 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp paprika
1 tsp cumin
1 tsp oregano
 
Mix all the ingredients well and form walnut size meatballs.  Set aside.

The vegetables: 
1 large onion, chopped
1 large bell pepper, diced
4 medium black Hungarian peppers, seeded and diced

Heat 2-3Tbs of olive oil in the bottom of a heavy based soup pot. Sauté veggies until tender.

Then add
3-4 garlic cloves minced
1 tsp oregano
1 tsp ground cumin
1 tsp red chili flakes (or to taste)
1-2 Tbs chili powder

1 drained can of black beans
1 drained can of corn
1 can of diced tomatoes
1 cup of salsa
10 cups of chicken broth or stock

Once liquid is added, bring soup to a boil.  Once you have a rolling boil, drop meatballs in, one at a time, and boil for 15 minutes or until cooked through. Reduce heat to a simmer for another 10 minutes.

Garnish with sour cream, sliced jalapeno, or tortilla chips.

9 Responses

  1. This looks great! I love, love soup. I’m going to have to make this one. I don’t think I’ve ever made meatballs. It kinda intimidates me, in that it seems like it’ll take for-ev-er.

  2. Another one I need to try. what are Hungarian peppers, and where did you get them?

    • I actually got them in our CSA, They are smaller than jalapenos but with similar heat levels so maybe just sub a jalapeno or two depending on how spicy you like it?

  3. I’m totally getting the tortilla soup with this, probably would have been great with some crispy tortilla strips also. What a fun soup, gotta love a meatball.

  4. THIS looks SO yummy :] Beautiful pictures to boot!

  5. That looks amazing. I’m not a huge soup girl, but anytime you combine Mexican and meatballs I’m on board.

  6. Bookmarked! I am so happy soup season is back. I’m making my first pot in months this weekend 🙂

  7. It DOES look wonderful! Love the combination of ingredients – spicy and savory! Great recipes! And YES – it’s soup time – Hooray!

  8. I am looking for some delicious soups for the cooler weather and it looks like I found one! I may sub the hungarian peppers with banana peppers.. You did a wonderful job on the presentation-great pics.

Leave a Reply

