CSA Weekly + Tangy Corn Relish

143

Our bag was a little light yesterday. I shed a tear that my beloved potatoes were no longer making their way into our kitchen but finally, now that it is September, we are seeing our first summer squash: zucchini and a crooked neck.

150

I’ve got a great zucchini recipe coming your way soon so if you are in whimpering at the weight of all the zucchini on your counter, save 6 or so for that.

149

The usual suspects were hanging around: mixed lettuce, greens, green beans and cukes, but a newbie that I’ll have some fun with: Hungarian black peppers.

154

For the past couple of weeks, I’ve been building a stock pile of cucumbers. They aren’t my favorite. I hardly even tolerate them. But no one would take them willingly off my hands and I despise waste so I finally got around to using a few up (and the dreaded parsley as well) in an edible fashion.

075

Tangy Corn Relish

Spotted on Food Network via Google, this recipe caught my eye solely for the fact that it could utilize my cukes and parsley that had been shunned to the back of our produce drawer. It actually turned out pretty well and I don’t mind eating it, though, I’ll admit, it isn’t my favorite recipe ever. The spicy corn relish Huz made a while back is definitely more my style but to each their own.

Ingredients

  • 2 ears corn
  • 3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground pepper
  • 1/2 cup chopped red bell pepper
  • 1/2 small onion, chopped
  • 1/4 cup finely chopped sweet gherkins
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley
  • 1 jalapeno pepper, seeded and minced
  • 1/2 teaspoon sugar

Directions

Preheat a grill to medium-high. Brush the corn with 1 tablespoon olive oil and sprinkle with the cumin, and salt and pepper to taste. Grill until golden and toasted on all sides, 5 to 8 minutes, turning as needed.

Combine the remaining 2 tablespoons oil, the peppers, onion, gherkins, parsley, jalapeno and sugar in a large bowl and season with salt and pepper. Slice the corn kernels off the cobs and toss with the relish. Cover and refrigerate for at least 30 minutes.

095

I served this atop marinated (in beer and lime juice) rockfish and brown rice the first night.

087

It was better the next day with the leftover rockfish served up taco style. The flavors melded nicely and had a great, slightly crunchy, texture. Don’t skip the roasting of the corn! It definitely kicks it up a notch!099106

5 Responses

  1. That relish looks wonderful in with those tacos! Sounds delicious!

  2. Great fish tacos. I think the salsa looks delish!

  3. Love this. Yum!

  4. yum!! that corn relish looks so colorful and delicious!

  5. What a colorful, healthy looking relish! That would taste wonderful on fish tacos!

Leave a Reply

