Pomegranate Sauce and Sweet Braised Greens

107

I hope that everyone is enjoying their long weekend! We are busy with some manual labor projects that I’ll share later this week! We’ve also been enjoying the fabulous weather that has finally encroached on the Pacific Northwest!

I’ll be the first to admit that my time in the kitchen lately has been pretty spotty at best and I haven’t had a lot of great recipes to share because, frankly, I haven’t been trying anything new. But I have a couple of short, quick, and easy pomegranate recipes for you to try!

128

Pomegranate Sauce

I served this on top of some pre-cooked turkey breast to amp up an easy meal. I may or may not have licked my plate. I really wouldn’t skip on the Amaretto, though my inspiration recipe called for port. It gave it a wonderful aroma and dimension that is unmatched.

2 T butter
1/2 c chopped onion
3 cloves garlic, minced
1/4 c Amaretto
2 c chicken broth
1/2 c POM Pomegranate juice
1 T molasses
1 T brown sugar
salt & pepper to taste

Melt the butter in a large saucepan over medium heat, and sweat the onion and garlic until the onion is tender, about 3 minutes.

Add the amaretto and cook, stirring, until most of it has evaporated.

Add the stock, pomegranate juice, molasses and brown sugar, raise the heat to medium-high, and reduce slowly to a sauce consistency. As the sugars caramelize, the sauce will turn brownish red. Season, to taste, with salt and pepper.

***

Sweet Braised Greens

This recipe was jacked from my CSA newsletter so I can’t take credit. Also, I’ve made this recipe no less than 4 times over the past 3 weeks but keeps managing to escape my camera. It’s easy, delicious, and uses up a ton of greens that have been running rampant in my CSA bags. Enjoy!

2 T olive oil
1 t chopped ginger
1 T minced garlic
1 lb greens, chopped
2 T balsamic vinegar
1 T brown sugar
1/4 c POM Pomegranate juice

Mix vinegar, sugar, and juice in a small bowl and set aside.

In a large pot, over medium heat, heat oil. Sauté ginger and garlic for one minute, stirring frequently. Stir in greens and stir until soft but not overcooked and limp. Stir in vinegar mixture and simmer for 3 minutes.

8 Responses

  1. I really love cranberry sauce with turkey but never thought to try a pomegranate sauce. The ingredients sound delicious. Port can be way too intense for me so I’d do amaretto too. Thanks for sharing! I need to remember to eat more turkey, it makes great sandwiches.

  2. What a GREAT idea!! I’m obsessed with cranberry sauce so I know I would love pomegranate sauce too!!!

  3. That sounds heavenly! I think I would lick the plate for sure!

  4. Nice! I like the Amaretto addition, sounds and looks wonderful, thanks for sharing!

  5. Great recipes! I have a bunch of greens in my CSA box this week and a bottle of POM in the cupboard so I will definitely have to try this. Just came across your blog…lots of good stuff here!!

  6. What a great way to spruce up something store bought and make it something special. Love POM.

  7. […] Leftovers 4 Lunch: Pomegranate Sauce and Sweet Braised Greens […]

  8. Thanks for great post. I’ve included it in this week’s BBQ Grail 10 Posts Worh A Look. http://wp.me/pwBnV-1YV

Leave a Reply

