Bird’s Eye Steamers

120

Last weekend, my cousin came and stayed with us. This weekend, my Mother-in-Law is coming to visit for a few days. So needless to say, things have been a little more hectic around these parts than usual. AND the weather has been fantastic so we’ve been spending more and more time outside doing fun things like taking Pippin to the park and letting her play in the bay.

When these Bird’s Eye Steamfresh Chef’s Favorites came from the Foodbuzz Tastemaker Program, it couldn’t have been at a better time. Convenience foods do serve a purpose!

001

We received four different varieties of these yet-to-be-released Chef Favorites of side dishes and tried them all! I was particularly excited for the two risottos – I’m obsessed with risottos and if I could have a shortcut for those nights that time is short.

017

They only take 5 minutes in the microwave and done.

birds eye risotto 004

The risotto was incredibly creamy, but that is thanks to half and half in the ingredient list and not the slow, methodic preparation of my beloved arborio rice.

birds eye risotto 030

The Creamed Spinach paired very nicely with leftover dirty rice and leftover roasted chicken.

011

It would be a good way to get kids to eat their greens but I like my greens fine without drenching them in cream.

015

The last one we tried was the Green Beans and Roasted Potatoes blend.

091

This was definitely our least favorite of the bags and ended up getting a healthy dose of fresh ground pepper on them. I did appreciate the higher ratio of green beans to potato in this mix.

122

Generally, my only complaint about this line of food is that it is all cream-based sauces. As I’m trying to limit/avoid dairy, this is probably not something I would buy regularly. I would like to see a different sort of sauce base because the idea of these is great – the ingredient list is short, it’s easy and a nice improvement from just basic frozen veggies that frequent my fridge now.

Leave a Reply

