Mushroom Smothered Rockfish

054

Last week, I had a follow up appointment with my Naturopath to retest some of my food intolerances. I couldn’t believe it had been 6 months already! Oh wait, yes I can.

I haven’t addressed it too much but it has really been starting to wear on me how tedious it is to stick to the pretty strict diet guidelines he gave me back in March. But it works. Whenever I would “cheat”, I would be riddled with my previous symptoms.

Last week, I was hoping for good news – news that I could reintroduce some things back into my diet. Like chocolate. And bacon.

But no dice.

I did get a few good news items though. I can start to slowly and carefully introduce red bananas, sprouted wheat, tofu and tempeh. Small but very exciting – especially the tofu and tempeh.

I also got my hands swatted, metaphorically speaking, for eating too much chicken. And it’s true – I have been eating a lot of chicken. Apparently, it isn’t making my body happy as it came up as an intolerance in this test! The heck? So. I have to lower the chicken consumption. And since I’m lifting seriously right now and wanting to keep my protein levels up and tofu and tempeh have been out of the picture, I haven’t had a whole lot of options.

So the doc has spoken. More turkey. More seafood. Done and done. So when making the rounds at Costco, I grabbed a pack of wild Alaskan rockfish. Which I’ve never had before. But it was cheap. And it’s protein. And it’s not chicken.

Win.

Turns out it tastes pretty good too!

088

Mushroom Smothered Rockfish

Adapted from this recipe.

  • 1.5 lb. Alaska rockfish fillets, thawed if necessary
  • 1 cup chopped leek, thoroughly rinsed
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 Tbls butter
  • 2 cups sliced mushrooms
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/8 tsp. pepper
  • 1 tbsp. lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup shredded Parmesan cheese

Cut rockfish into serving-sized pieces. Sauté leeks and garlic in butter until tender. Add mushrooms, salt, and pepper. Place fish fillets in bottom of buttered shallow baking dish. Spoon mushroom mixture on top. Drizzle with lemon juice; sprinkle with cheese. Bake at 450°F. allowing about 15-20 minutes, depending on the thickness of the fillets. Rockfish flakes easily when tested with a fork. Makes 6 servings.

066

7 Responses

  1. I forget, but can you have eggs? Eggs are always good! A fried egg…mmm. Or maybe some scrimps and scallops? Miss you. xo

  2. Looks Fab! Sounds Great & received the Teenager stamp of approval after the tasting. Have a good one here:)

  3. looks delish! Too bad I don’t trust fish unless I can see the water it came out of.

  4. This looks so delicious, what a great recipe! Love this! 🙂

  5. What an interesting recipe…looks great!

  6. I’ve never had rockfish, but it looks tasty! Sorry to hear you are still having some food issues! Fish is a great source of protein too though so I am sure you can come up with a lot of new recipes!

Leave a Reply

