Honey Basil Chicken and Sautéed Radishes with Mint

065

This is the kind of meal that makes me really thankful for my little pots of fresh herbs! Even if my squash and onions are doing so hot, at least I’m getting my moneys worth out of the copious amounts of oregano, thyme, dill, mint, and basil that are littering my deck. And nothing beats “free” fresh herbs.

063

Honey Basil Chicken

I found this recipe via Foodbuzz. While the chicken turned out well and had a lot of flavor, neither honey or basil were predominant flavors. The balsamic vinegar seemed to mask any other ingredients. I’m planning to try my hand at honey basil chicken again because it just sounds too delicious and refreshing to pass up.

1 cup balsamic vinegar
3 tbsp Dijon mustard
2 tbsp soy sauce
2 tbsp honey
2 tbsp basil, cut into ribbons
1/2 tsp thyme
Black pepper
2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts

In a gallon ziploc, combine vinegar, mustard, soy sauce, honey, basil, thyme and pepper.  Add chicken and turn to coat in vinegar mixture.  Cover and allow to sit at room temperature for 15 minutes, turning halfway through.

Heat your grill to medium-high heat and cook for 5 minutes per side or until chicken is cooked through.  While chicken is grilling, heat vinegar mixture to a boil in a small saucepan. Reduce the volume by half.

Serve chicken over rice and drizzle with reduced sauce.

105

Sautéed Radishes with Mint

I’m not particularly fond of radishes but they have been cropping up in our CSA the past few weeks and not wanting to be wasteful, I decided I needed to give them a shot. I came across this recipe on Tastespotting – it seemed different than any other way I’ve had radishes so if I were to like them, this may be the way to do it. And besides, everything is better with butter. They weren’t half bad but radishes will never be a favorite in my book.

1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
1 tablespoon butter
1 pound radishes, trimmed and cut lengthwise into 1/2-inch wedges
1/2 teaspoon sea salt
1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
2 tablespoons mint, roughly chopped

Heat oil and butter in a large sauté pan over medium heat. Let butter melt and then cook a bit longer, until it’s a deep golden and beginning to take on a nutty smell, about 2 minutes total.

Add radishes to pan and toss to coat. Sprinkle with salt and pepper. Cook for 8-10 minutes, tossing frequently, until radishes are tender and caramelized in places. Let cool slightly and sprinkle with mint and additional salt to taste.

Leave a Reply

