Grilled Stuffed Portobellos

Stuffed Portobellos 022

And then it was August. Can you believe it? With the exception of a handful of days sprinkled throughout the past month, it certainly has not felt like summer in our neck of the woods but I am grateful was aren’t getting scorched like the majority of the country.

I’ve tried not to let the less-than-stellar weather get the best of us. I’ve been forcing Husband to fire up the grill, even on overcast days – we do live in Washington after all and if you aren’t going to grill in the gray, you’ll never get the chance.

Stuffed Portobellos 029

When I saw large Portobello caps at Costco, I snagged them up while Huz crinkled his nose. He likes mushrooms as much as the next but declared that Portobellos are just too much mushroom. Even when I made Savory Waffles topped with Fried Egg and Portobello, he kindly handed over most of his mushroom to me and I did not complain.

So this recipe, thrown together for a quick, easy weekend lunch, was all for me. I banished him to scrounge for leftovers in the fridge (which is never a difficult task) while I enjoyed the Portobellos in all their glory.

Stuffed Portobellos 030

Stuffed Grilled Portobellos

2 large Portobello caps
2 T olive oil, divided
1 T balsamic vinegar
3 ounces goat cheese, crumbled
1 cup grape (or cherry) tomatoes, halved
2 Tbls basil chiffonade
kosher salt, to taste
fresh ground pepper, to taste

Heat grill over medium-high heat.

Oil the top of the Portobello caps with 1 T olive oil.

In a small bowl, combine 1 T olive oil, vinegar, cheese, tomatoes, and basil. Divide in two and spoon into Portobello caps.

Place filled Portobello caps on the grill, close lid and cook for 5-7 minutes.

Season with salt and pepper to taste.

Stuffed Portobellos 036

It’s so simplistic, a classic combination of flavors, and it was delectable. I easily devoured the two caps myself and longed for just one more. For a sharper taste, you can substitute feta for the goat cheese, or perhaps a combination of the two.

Stuffed Portobellos 056

9 Responses

  1. Leah, you’re awesome! I’ve just learned to like mushrooms and bought my first package of portobello caps a few days ago and they have been sitting in my fridge waiting to be used. Trying this recipe today! haha.

  2. Those look amazing, and easy enough for me to make. I’ll have to try it.

  3. These look SO good! I’m a meat-eater all the way, but I LOVE how portobellos can be an amazing substitute for meat. Yum!

  4. Oh my gosh these look SO GOOD! With tomatoes from the farmers market? yum yum yum. Going on my to make list.

  5. This looks great! I can’t wait to try this!

  6. These look so good! Can’t wait to try them 🙂

  7. These are literally bursting with great flavor!! Love it. =)

  8. Grilled Stuffed Portobellos are amazing!

  9. These look fabulous! Great filling for the portobellos!

Leave a Reply

