See Jane Run–Seattle Half Marathon

SJR Half Marathon 055

When I decided that I wanted to give a half marathon, and running, a real shot and was looking for a race that would be a good first race, the inaugural See Jane Run Seattle Half Marathon fit the bill – it wasn’t huge, the course was pretty flat, it was local, and at a time of year that decent running weather could be expected.

SJR Half Marathon 043

Basically, I was looking for everything that Husband’s first half marathon was not. After spectating that event, I knew that running in Seattle, in November was not for me.

SJR Half Marathon 042

Race day started out like all race days do: with an obscenely early wake-up call.

SJR Half Marathon 005

To get to the race on time, we had to drive 45 minutes to the Bainbridge Island ferry, take the 5:20 boat across the water, then grab a cab up to Gasworks to be there for the suggested 6:30 packet-pickup time. The race didn’t start until 8 so I held off on eating breakfast until we were on the ferry.

SJR Half Marathon 003SJR Half Marathon 008SJR Half Marathon 006

Breakfast on the go: PBJ + hard boiled egg. It did me good all through training and I wasn’t about to mess with a good thing.

SJR Half Marathon 011

The ride over to the city was gorgeous and calming.

SJR Half Marathon 023

We easily caught a cab and headed to the park. We were definitely early, but that’s fine by me. Less stress!

SJR Half Marathon 033

We picked up our packets, checked our bag, pottied, then just hung out.

SJR Half Marathon 040SJR Half Marathon 037

Good thing we got the toilet out of the way…

SJR Half Marathon 035

Yep, check out that line! The bathroom situation was the biggest complaint about this race but SJR has already taken note and promised to remedy the situation for next time.

The start came pretty quickly – no corrals or anything, just a big free for all. We hunkered in the middle somewhere.

SJR Half Marathon 044

The first part of the race was really fast for me. Part of it was getting stuck in the mob of people on a pretty narrow path (maybe 5’ wide?) and part of it was dodging walkers. A couple miles in, I seemed to find my stride and kept a decent pace.

I had a shadow for the first 6 miles which was interesting. When we started out, Trina asked what we were planning on pacing at (I said 11:00 even though I was really shooting for 11:30) and she asked if we were running the whole thing (I said yes, even though I knew I would end up taking walking breaks). She asked if it was ok if she shadowed us – she liked hearing Huz rattle off our pace/time updates periodically. It definitely motivated me to stay strong longer, having her follow! I had a Gu at 5 miles and had a tummy ache at 6 so I started walking a bit and she took off and wished us luck. We jockeyed back and forth a bit but eventually, a blister got the best of her so she finished a few minutes behind us.

SJR Half Marathon 046

The miles ticked by pretty quickly, even when my pace slowed by a bit. I noticed that when I run, I am looking at the ground in front of me a lot. I don’t take in my surroundings. I had no idea where we were when I would look up and would have husband help me get my bearings. Just thought that was interesting about myself.

SJR Half Marathon 047

Mile 8, it started sprinkling. The rain kept pretty light until after I finished, then it started pouring. I was okay with that. Even with the rain, I poured water on myself at nearly every water station past the halfway point.

SJR Half Marathon 049

{Last .1! Eye on the prize!}

I definitely started to hurt towards the end, but I think I was doing pretty good, considering. My hips started to ache first. Then my toes started to hurt (the tips of them).

SJR Half Marathon 052SJR Half Marathon 054

While I didn’t really care either way that it was a predominantly women’s race, I did find myself feeling really inspired by being surrounded by hundreds of women, all shapes, sizes, ages, abilities, personalities, all doing the same thing for their own reasons.

SJR Half Marathon 045

In the entire race (a supposed 2,400 participants), there were only a dozen or so men running, and countless others spectating. And I am so incredibly thankful for this guy.

SJR Half Marathon 057

I can say, with 100% confidence, that I would not have done as well as I did without him. Not only just on race day but for nearly every single training run (186 miles!). And for rest days. For literally pushing me up hills. For massaging my feet. For hitting the pavement at 5am with me. For giving me words of encouragement. And for giving me an ass kicking when I needed it.

SJR Half Marathon 061

Mile splits:

1:10:45
2:9:55 (!)
3:10:16
4:10:34
5:10:33
{Gu shot}
6:11:06
7:11:21
8:12:16
9:11:38
10:11:47
11:12:09
12:11:52
13+.16: 13:35

Official finish time: 2:27:54, average pace: 11:15

SJR Half Marathon 059

My super secret goal for this race was 2:30. When we ran 11.69 miles a couple weeks ago, I wasn’t sure I would be able to do it. When we ran 7 miles last week, I knew I could.

And I did.

And I’m really proud.

So what’s next?

Yes, I would do a half marathon again. Full marathon? Um, no thanks. Not now anyway. I would like to get some shorter distances in as well. I think I really like the 10k distance.

Would I do this half marathon again? Maybe. But right now, I’m leaning towards probably not unless some things change.

image

There were a couple of out and backs on the course with a very narrow path. You could hardly have 4 people abreast (so 2 each direction) which made it difficult for passing. And that’s a shame too, because I really liked the lack of hills on the route. But we never ran on a fully closed road like we did at Rhody. That was pretty sweet.

But ending with champagne and chocolate? That’s pretty sweet too.

SJR Half Marathon 056

Or just a giant pile of meat.

SJR Half Marathon 068

Huz and I hit up Ipanema’s Brazilian grill place for all-you-can-eat meat and salads.  I definitely had about 5 of those plates worth.

SJR Half Marathon 069

Don’t worry. I ate some veggies too. And drank beer.

SJR Half Marathon 062

Heading home was bittersweet. All that hard work and training was over so quickly.

SJR Half Marathon 076

How am I feeling afterward? A little beat up. My quads and hips hurt walking upstairs. My toes hurt which is probably the strangest thing. I had some very minor chafing on my inner arm. Mostly, I’m just tired but I guess a day like that will do it to you. The game plan right now is to rest up hard until Ragnar which starts on Friday… but more on that later.

17 Responses

  1. GREAT JOB LADY! 2:27 is a PHENOMENAL first half time! 🙂 I’m so proud of you – way to kick bootay and take names 😉

  2. Aw! What a great story! I love seeing the Seattle photos too. 🙂 Congrats!

  3. Congrats!!! 1/2 marathon is a big deal!

  4. You did an awesome job! What a great first half marathon story. I had the same super secret goal, and didn’t get it due to some beginner mistakes. Sounds like you made none. Are you doing another half soon? You Go Girl in Tacoma is a pretty nice course.

  5. Great job! I love reading other people’s race reports! That is an awesome first half, there are so many great runs around the area it’s hard to choose which to do!

  6. Way to go! This is an amazing accomplishment and you are so right to be proud! Well done! I would never be able to get out of bed that early, never mind run after!

  7. Congrats on killing your goal! I’m sure it was a great feeling of accomplishment, and I think every race should end with champagne. Actually, I think most things should end with champagne now that I’m thinking about it.

  8. CONGRATS!!! I can’t walk that far, let alone run! 🙂 BRAVO!

  9. Good job! I’m very proud of you!

  10. Way to go! Also, you look fantastic! I remember a while back you were trying to lose a few pounds, has all this running helped you reach your goal?

    • I have dropped a few pounds over the course of the last few months which is nice. I’d still like to drop a few more though! I do find that it is easier to run being a bit lighter than previous attempts (like 20 pounds ago).

  11. You are so awesome, Leah! This really inspired me. I stopped training because of my stomach bothering me but now that I know that gluten is the culprit, I plan on getting back out there!

    Seriously how awesome is your husband for going with you? That is the best.

  12. great review! I was considering doing the race, but was still pretty pooped from the Rock’n’Roll! thanks for sharing!

  13. CONGRATS!! I wish I had known that men could run, I may have had my husband run with us. Welcome to the Club 🙂

  14. Awesome job Leah! Nice recap.

  15. CONGRATS! Gotta love getting under your goal time! Very cool that you ran with your hubby too. 🙂

  16. […] I was going about it all the wrong way. And now, I have a few races under my belt (including a 12k, half marathon and a 197-mile team relay) and am a confident, albeit slow by some standards, runner. Ragnar Van […]

Leave a Reply

